Älekulla Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Älekulla Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Älekulla Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

A fire in 1784 destroyed the greater part of the church archive holdings.

The name of the parish up until 2 February 1908 was Ellekulla. On the date mentioned the spelling was changed to Älekulla.

Älekulla Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Göteborg
Pastorat Annex parish in Torestorp, Älekulla and Öxabäcks pastorat
Län 1634-1997 Älvsborg
1998- Västra Götaland
Landskap Västergötland
Härad Mark
Tingslag -1970 Mark
1971- Sjuhäradsbygden
Domsaga Sjuhäradsbygden
Fögderi -1946 Mark
1946-1966 Svenljunga
1967 Kinna
Kommun 1863-1951Älekulla
1952-1970 Svansjö landskommun
1971-Mark
Militär indelning add here


Place Names:  [edit | edit source]

Alfshult, Anabäckshult Lillegården

Backen, Berget, Björkekullen, Björnås, Bocksås, Bostebygd, Brastorp Lillegården, Brastorp Mellangården, Brastorp Nedergården, Bratteberg, Brobacken, Bäckåsen

Dal, Dunkared

Fredsberg

Gäddarp Nedergården, Gäddarp Övergården

Hallatorpet, Holmen, Hornås

Karlabo, Killingsås, Kinnared, Kullen

Lillegården Anabäckshult, Lillegården Brastorp, Lillegården Älekulla, Ljungåsen, Lunden, Lunnabo, Långåsen

Mellangården Brastorp, Mogarås, Mosshult

Nedergården Brastorp, Nedergården Gäddarp, Neckakulla, Norgärdet, Nylycka, Nyhagen

Prästhult

Råholmen, Rössås

Sockenstugan, Skållared, Storegården Anabäckshult, Storegården Älekulla

Tranebacken

Urekulla

Vivhult

Älekulla Lillagården, Älekulla Storegården

Övergården Gäddarp


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Älvsborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Älvsborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References:[edit | edit source]

Älekulla Husförhörslängd 1840-1846 Ortregister