Älgå Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Älgå Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Älgå Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Älgå Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat -1850 Annex parish in Arvika, Arvika köping, Älgå, Gunnarskog and Ny Pastorate
1850 – 1871 Annex parish in Arvika, Arvika köping, Älgå, Gunnarskog, Ny, and Bogen Pastorate
1871-1909 Annex parish in Arvika, Arvika köping, Älgå, Ny, and Pastorate
1909 – 1943 Annex parish in Arvika landsförsamiling, Älgå and Ny Pastorate
1944- Annex parish in Arvika Västra, Älgå and Ny Pastorate.
Län -1779 Närke och Värmland
1779- Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad Jösse
Tingslag add here
Domsaga Arvika
Fögderi 1682-1885 Västersysslet
1886-1917 Jösse
1918-1945 Västersysslet
1946-1966 Jösse 1967 Arvika
Kommun 1682-1885 Västersysslet
1886-1917 Jösse
1918-1945 Västersysslet
1946-1966 Jösse 1967 - Arvika
Militär indelning NERIKES REGEMENTE
Jösse Kompani


Place Names:[edit | edit source]

Berg, Björkenäs Norra, Björkenäs Södra, Björneryd, Björnemyren, Brobacken, Bråtarne, Bråten, Bräcka, Byn

Dalen under Skyberg Östra, Dalen under Valnäs, Dambråten

Fiskaretorp, Fröbol

Gamla Tomten, Glasnäs, Greåna, Grinsbol, Gränsjön, Gränsmyren, Gäddemyra, Görsbyn

Hallåsen, Höglunda, Högåsen, Höjdetorp

Jössefors

Kallbäcken, Karlshamn, Karlslund, Katrineberg, Klockarebråten, Klätten, Knutserud, Kolbotten, Kolbråten, Kolsjönäs, Kolången, Kroksbol, Kullerud, Källåsen

Lindhöjden

Mallgård, Mellrotstorp, Mossdalen, Mossbråten, Myren, Myrhöjden, Mörtbäcken

Norra Björkenäs, Nytorp, Nytorp under Berg

Ormängen, Otterstorp

Pikstad

Rådane, Ränkesed

Sjörönningen, Skog, Skyberg Västra, Skyberg Östra, Skåra, Smedjelyckan, Sockenstugan, Stälpet under Berg, Stälpet Västra, Stommen, Strand, Stridsbol, Stubberud, Sullvik, Svensmyren, Sågen, Sågtorp, Södra Björkenäs

Tapperud, Tomten Gamla, Tjärnrönningen, Trolldalen, Törestorp

Ulvdalen

Vageln, Valnäs, Vennerud, Vik, Västra Skyberg, Västra Stälpet

Åsebol, Älgås bruk, Ängen

Östra Skyberg

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References:
 
[edit | edit source]

Älgå Husförhörslängd 1836-1841 Ortregister