Älvsbacka Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Älvsbacka Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Älvsbacka Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat Nyed
Län -1779 Närke och Värmland
1779- Värmland
Landskap Värmland
Härad Nyeds härad
Tingslag 1728-1951 Nyed
1952-1970 Älvdal och Nyed
Domsaga Mellansysslets
1971- Karlstad
Fögderi 1728-1917 Östersysslet
1918-1946 Älvdal
1946- Karlstad
Kommun -1951 Älvsbacka landskommun
1952-1970 Nyeds landskommun
1972- Karlstad
Militär indelning Extra Soldat-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/VA/13662
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names:[edit | edit source]

Berg, Bergängen, Bethlehem, Bruket Älvsbacka, Bråten Norra

Finnbacken

Gräsmången, Gräsviken, Gräså, Gården Nedre, Gästgivaregården Stenåsen

Hallen, Holtsby, Högberg

Kärret

Ladrågen, Lersjön, Lisbo

Mjönäs, Mångstorp

Nedre Gården, Nedre Hammeren, Norra Bråten, Norra Viken, Nästorp

Permattstorp, Plåthammaren

Sandviken, Sjöhaget, Skattlöseberg, Skogen, Stensviken, Stenåsen, Stenåsen Gästgivaregården, Sund

Torpet, Torsked

Viken Norra, Vilhelmsnäs

Älvsbacka Bruk

Örtnäs, Örtnästorp, Östanäs

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References:[edit | edit source]

Älvsbacka Husförhörslängd 1836-1840 Ortregister