Ängsö Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ängsö Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Ängsö Church.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Ängsö Parish, Västmanland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Västerås
Pastorat -1930 Ängsö, 1931-1961 Kärrbo, Kungsåra and Ängsö, 1962- Irsta, Kärrbo, Kungsåra, Ängsö and Björksta
Län 1634-1640 Västmanland, 1641-1646 Sala, 1647- Västmanland
Landskap Västmanland
Härad Yttertjurbo
Tingslag -1893 Yttertjurbo härad, 1894-1928 Tuhundra, Siende and Yttertjurbo, 1929-1966 Siende and Norrbo, 1967-1970 Västerås (under rådhusrätten)
Domsaga -1864 Simtuna, Torstuna, Våla, Över- and Yttertjurbo, från 1850-talet benämnd Västmanlands östra, 1865-1928 Västmanlands södra, 1929-1966 Västmanlands mellersta, 1967-1970 Västerås (under rådhusrätten), 1971- Västerås
Fögderi 1720-1881 Väsby, 1881- Västerås
Kommun 1863-1951 Ängsö, 1952-1966 Kungsåra, 1967-1970 Västerås stad, 1971- Västerås
Militär indelning Vestmanlands Regemente:
Lif-Kompaniet
Extra Soldat-Roteringen
Västmanlands Regemente:
Livkompaniet
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/11788
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Berg, Bergstorp,

Dalbacken, Dyvik

Engrind, Eskilstorp

Fagerön, Fattighuset

Gisselholmen

Haget Haglund, Herrgården, Högsholm

Karsbo, Klipparbo, Klockaregården, Klockartorp, Kocktorp, Kärn

Labbarn, Lekarbo, Lilla Lugnet, Lilla Näs, Lilla Utön, Lugnet, Lugnet Lilla, Lustigbo, Långholmen, Långholmen Lillgården, Långholmen Storgården, Långhäll, Löttorp

Måholmen

Norrudden, Nystrand, Nytorpet, Näs Lilla, Näs Stora, Persbo, Prästgården, Roligheten, Ryssbo, Röholmen

Sandgrind, Sjöslätt, Skursund, Smedstugan, Snarbo, Solvik, Spånsundet, Stamdal, Stora Näs, Stora Utön, Storslåttern, Storängen

Utön Lilla, Utön Stora

Västerudden,

Ytternäs

Åkeräng Soldattorp, Ålsbo,

Österudden


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Västmanland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Västmanland" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies


References[edit | edit source]

Ängsö, Husförhörslängd 1840-1846, Ortregister

Jurisdictional Information from:  Riksarkivet. "Ängsö Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April  2012 https://riksarkivet.se/