Årdal Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Årdal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, 1682-1919: Stavanger amt|
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Årdal is a parish in Hjelmeland clerical district. Records begin in 1760.
Microfilms at the Family History Library cover the years: 1760-1961. See FamilySearch catalog for full details and microfilm numbers.
- Christenings (Døbte): 1760-1961
- Introductions (Introduserte): 1799-1816
- Confirmations (Konfirmerte): 1760-1797, 1799-1815, 1817-1924
- Banns (Lysninger): 1799-1816
- Engagements (Trolovede): 1760-1798
- Marriages (Viede): 1760-1926
- Stillborn (Dødfødte): 1799-1816
- Burials (Begravede): 1760-1926
- Vaccinations (Vaksinerte): 1814-1816, 1843-1861, 1863-1866
- Moving in and out (Inflyttede og Utflyttede): 1824-1861, 1863-1913
- Removed or added to state church (1849, 1896-1925
Digital images of the church books are available at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- For 1875 and earlier censuses see Hjelmeland
- 1891: The 1891 census for Årdal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1900: The 1900 census for Årdal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
- 1910: The 1910 census for Årdal is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1616-1701. The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, "odelssaker". You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.
Land Records[edit | edit source]
- 1670-1910: These mortgage records give information about real estate, conveyances, mortgages, and other transactions of properties. Contracts, agreements, and deeds are also recorded in these books. The panteregisters are extracts of these records.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
For 1666-1795 the probates are in the combined Ryfylke and Karmsund judicial district.
For 1786-1876 they are found in Ryfylke judicial district.
The clerical probates for 1729-1807 are found in Ryfylke deanery deanery. `
Availability[edit | edit source]
Årdal police station
*1885-1964 death protocol Digitalarkivet
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
Eikeland, Sigurd, Årdal, Årdal 1969-1971. A history of Årdal in Rogaland county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. Vol. 2 includes an expanded index. FHL 948.31/A1 H2e A farm name index to volume 2 is found in the following link. File:948.31-A1 H2e V.2 - ARDAL 2.pdf
|The farm name index referenced above includes many more names than the list below.|
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
21 Bergeland, 42 Bjørkestølen, 38 Boremyren, 1 Børke
43 Dritland, 48 Døvig lille
3 Eggebø, 33 Egland, 51 Erevigen, 4 Erland, 39 Erlien
5 Gjeisfjeld, 25 Grasdalen
29 Hia, 16 Høiland
35 Kaltveid, 10 Kirkhus
40 Maaland, 15 Myren, 7 Mæle nedre, 7 Mælsosen
32 Nes, 53 Nese store
22 Rage, 6 Riskedal, 34 Rivjeland
11 Sedberg fremre, 31 Selflaad, 17 Skoarbø lille, 45 Soppeland, 26 Storaadalen, 47 Stølen, 46 Svaberg, 50 Sør-Skaar
24 Tengesdal, 44 Tjentland, 37 Tveid, 41 Tysdal søndre, 23 Tysdal øvre
36 Ullestad, 51 Ur
19 Valeim nedre, 15 Valle, 28 Viglesdalen, 20 Votne