Île-de-Montréal County, Quebec Genealogy
|Quebec Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Île-de-Montréal county ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Populated Places Table
- 3 Online Gazetteers
- 4 How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records
- 5 Civil Registration in the Quebec Library and Archives
- 6 Writing for Birth, Marriage, and Death Records After 1900
- 7 Church Records: The Drouin Collection
- 8 The FamilySearch Collection
- 9 Census
- 10 Emigration and Immigration Records
- 11 Reading French Records
- 12 Websites
History[edit | edit source]
Île-de-Montréal is located at the confluence of the St. Lawrence River ( Canada ) and the Ottawa River in southwestern Quebec. It is the largest island in the archipelago of Hochelaga and the second river island the most populated in the world, behind and in front of Zhongshan Dao Manhattan. It coincides with much of the territory of the city of Montreal and other municipalities. It alone accounts for about a quarter of Quebec's population. The island of Montreal is the main component of the territory of Montreal (administrative region) and the agglomeration of Montreal, with the Bizard island, the island of St. Helena, the Ile Notre-Dame, the Nuns' Island, the Dorval island, and approximately 69 islands smaller. This territory includes 16 municipalities and 19 districts of the city of Montreal --Wikipedia
Populated Places Table[edit | edit source]
|FORMER NAME, if applicable||TYPE||
|Mont Royal|| Link
|ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???||Link|
Online Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- 1871 Postal Gazetteer
- Montmagny Regional County Municipality, Quebec Place Names Although Montreal is no part of Montnagny, this particular gazetteer lists it there. It actually comprises its own administrative district.
How to Find Birth, Marriage, and Death Records[edit | edit source]
Usually vital records (birth, marriage, and death) are found in civil registration and church records. In Quebec until 1900, civil (government) registration was kept by the churches, with a duplicate provided to the government. There are three ways to access these records:
- 1) church records in the Drouin collection, available online,
- 2) civil register duplicates of church records in the Quebec Library and Archives system, and
- 3) the records of the Family History Library (FamilySearch), online and microfilmed.
Civil Registration in the Quebec Library and Archives[edit | edit source]
In Quebec, the civil registers of births (baptisms), marriages and deaths (burials), which date from 1621, were duplicate copies of the church registers. This third source all of the pre-1900 records can be consulted at each of the nine regional offices of Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec.
Writing for Birth, Marriage, and Death Records After 1900[edit | edit source]
- Certificates of births, marriages, and deaths from 1900 may be applied for through the online Quebec government site, or by writing to:
- Directeur de l'état civil
- 2535, boulevard Laurier
- Sainte-Foy, Quebec
- G1V 5C5
- Directeur de l'état civil
- For application forms, fee information, and identification requirements, click here.
- Only the person named in the record or that person's legal representative may have access to civil registration and civil copies of church records after 1900. Direct descendants qualify as representatives.
See also Quebec Civil Registration, for information on published vital records.
Church Records: The Drouin Collection[edit | edit source]
Among other records, this database includes all the church records for the province of Quebec, that is, for the Adventist, Anglican, Apostolic, Baptist, Christ Church, Christian Brethren, Christian Missionary Alliance, Church of Christ, Church of England, Church of Scotland, Congregational, Episcopal, Evangelical, Free Church, Greek Orthodox, Holiness Movement, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Romanian Orthodox, Pentecostal, Presbyterian, Protestant, Russian Orthodox, Salvation Army, Unitarian, United Church, and Universalist denominations. The types of records include baptisms, marriages, and burials as well as confirmations, dispensations, censuses, statements of readmission to the church, and so on. They are written mainly in French, as well as English, Latin, and Italian.
- The Drouin Collection is available by subscription ($13.00/month or $100.00/year as of December 2016) at Généalogie Québec.
- The Drouin Collection is also available on Ancestry. The Drouin Collection 1621-1967 ($). Ancestry.com can be used without charge at Family History Centers throughout the world.
For more information, see The Drouin Collection: Six Databases.
The FamilySearch Collection[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch has microfilmed the entire collection of civil records in the Quebec Library and Archives.
Online Databases[edit | edit source]
Many of the parish (church) records have been digitized and posted online. They are only partially indexed, so browsing the original records is more effective:
- 1621-1979 - Quebec, Catholic Parish Registers, 1621-1979 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Partial index only.
- 1621-1979 - Quebec, Catholic Parish Registers, 1621-1979 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Browseable images.
- 1763-1967 - Quebec, Non-Catholic Parish Registers, 1763-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Browseable images.
- 1642-1902 - Quebec Index to Civil Copy of Church Records, 1642-1902 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection. Browseable images. Incomplete.
Microfilmed Church/Civil Records[edit | edit source]
All of the church/civil records have been microfilmed by FamilySearch.These microfilms may be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers around the world. To find a microfilm:
- a. Click on records for Canada, Québec, Île-de-Montréal. You will see a list of available records for the county.
- b. You will also see above the list the link Places within Canada, Québec, Île-de-Montréal. This will take you to a list of towns in the counties, which are links to records for the specific town.
- c. Click on any topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
- d. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. . The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm.
Census[edit | edit source]
Census records can play an important role in identifying all members of a family. They then guide your search in the vital records because you have more clues as to who you are looking for.
- Automated Genealogy census indices for 1851, 1901, 1906, 1911.
- Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1825, index/images- How to Use this Collection. Also at MyHeritage, ($), index
- Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1831 - How to Use this Collection, index/images
- Canada, Lower Canada Census, 1842 - How to Use this Collection, index/images
- Canada Census, 1851 - How to Use this Collection, index. Also at Ancestry.com, ($), index/images
- 1861 Census of Canada, ($), index/images
- Canada Census, 1871 - How to Use this Collection, index . Also at Ancestry.com, ($), index/images.
- Canada Census, 1881 - How to Use this Collection Index and Images. Also at Library and Archives Canada Index and images, and at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada Census, 1891 - How to Use this Collection Index only. Also at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada Census, 1901 - How to Use this Collection Index only. Also at Library and Archives Canada Index and images, and at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada Census, 1911 - How to Use this Collection Index only. Also at Library and Archives Canada Index and images, and at Ancestry.com ($) Index and Images.
- Canada Census, 1916 - How to Use this Collection, index
- 1921 Census of Canada ($) Index and Images.
Emigration and Immigration Records[edit | edit source]
- 1621-1865 - Quebec, Quebec Federation of Genealogical Societies, Family Origins, 1621-1865 at FamilySearch -How to Use this Collection— index
Reading French Records[edit | edit source]
- It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
- There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Websites[edit | edit source]
The Forbears website will give you an extensive list of websites that could have information for people who lived in this county. Some sites cover just the county, some cover all of Quebec, and some cover all of Canada. Some sites are databases of names and facts about people; other sites cover background information such as maps, history, geography, or genealogy strategies and methods for the region.