Ödskölt Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ödskölt Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Ödskölt Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Ödskölt Parish, Älvsborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat -1761 Steneby, Bäcke, Ärtemark, Ödskölt and Tisselskog pastorat
1761-1867 Annex parish in Steneby, Bäcke, Ärtemark, Ödskölt, Tisselskog and Billingsfors pastorat
1867-1872 Annex parish in Steneby, Bäcke, Ödskölt, Tisselskog and Billingsfors pastorat
1872- Annex parish in Steneby, Bäcke, Ödskölt, Tisselskog pastorat
Län Älvsborg
Landskap Dalsland
Härad Vedbo
Tingslag -1947 Vedbo
1948-1974 Tössbo and Vedbo
1975- Åmål
Domsaga Åmål
Fögderi -1715 Dalsland
1716-1946 Vedbo
1946-1966 Mellerud
1967- Åmåk
Kommun 1863-1951 Ödskölt
1952-1970 Bäckefors landskommun
1971- Bengtsfors
Militär indelning VESTGÖTA-DALS REGEMENTE
Vedbo Kompani
Extra Soldat-Roteringen


Place Names:[edit | edit source]

Aledalen, Alekasen, Alltorp, Ammeliden, Asketveten

Backa, Backen, Berg, Bergskasen, Bergsliden, Bergsmon, Bjurhem, Björkängen, Björnerud, Björsby, Blomskog, Bodane Lilla, Bodane Stora, Burhult under Stommen, Burhult under Vången, Bäckemon, Bäcken under Tveten, Bön

Dalen, Dammkasen, Dydalen, Dyrtorp, Dyvelskasen

Ekehögen, Ekeliden under Kroken, Ekeliden under Vången, Evnebyn

Fabriket, Fagerliden Västra, Fagerliden Östra, Fagersand, Funkhuset, Fällemon

Gillerud, Gillerud Lilla, Grana, Gråsmon, Grönemossen, Gälsjöhult

Haget, Hamnsmossen, Holmerud, Hultekasen, Hultet, Hultet under Vången, Hålekasen, Hällan, Hängesten, Hästebacken, Hästhagen, Höga Kasen

Intagan, Isakstorpet, Ivägsholm  

Jättenhem

Kasen under Asketveten, Kase under Bodane Stora, Kasen under Hängesten, Kasen under Stommen, Kasen under Uleviken, Kasen Höga, Kaserna, Kettlerud, Korsbäcken, Kraxvadet, Kroken, Kroksbyn, Kullen under Backen, Kullen under Hängesten, Kungsborgen, Kvarnen, Kvarnkasen under Bön, Kvarnkasen under Vången, Kärnkasen

Lilla Bodane, Lilla Gillererud, Lilla Gran, Lilla Ängkasen, Lilla Ödskölt, Lindkleven, Lundalen, Lunnane, Lövås

Modalen, Mon, Myren under Stommen, Myren under Vången

Nacken, Nybygget, Nytorp

Orsbyn

Prästgården

Rabben, Rynget, Rynget Västra, Rynget Östra, Rönningen under Nacken, Rönningen Uleviken, Rörmyren under Alltorp, Rörmyren under Backen

Segolsbyn, Sjöberget, Sjöbäcken, Sjöliden, Sjömyren, Stenängen, Stigen, stommen, Stora Bodane, Säljehögen

Tjulperud, Tjärnskasen under Hängesten, Tjärnskasen under Kroken, Tolbol, Torpet, Trakten, Tvetebäcken, Tveten, Tången

Uleviken

Vadgärdet, Vrångsjödalen, Vrångsjökasen, Vången, Västra Fagerliden, Västra Rynget

Ängdalarna, Ängkasen Lilla

Ödskölt, Ödskölt Lilla, Ömnebyn See Evnebyn, Ön, Örtebäcken, Östra Fagerliden, Östra Rynget


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Älvsborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Älvsborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

  • Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References:[edit | edit source]

Ödskölt Husförhörslängd 1836-1840 Ortregister