Östra Strö Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Östra Strö Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Östra Strö Church

History[edit | edit source]

This parish was known as Strö up until 1885 (in Frosta härad.) After 1885 the name was changed to Östra Strö.

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Östra Strö Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift 1989- Lund
Pastorat about 1600-1929 Skarhult, -1929 Östra Strö and Skarhult, 1929-1961 Östra Strö, Skarhult, Borlunda and Skeglinge, 1962- Gårdstånga
Län Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.
Landskap Skåne
Härad Frosta
Tingslag 1877-1915 Frosta härad, 1916- Frosta and Eslövs domsaga
Domsaga -1876 Frosta and Färs härader, 1877-1915 Frosta härad, 1916-1970 Frosta and Eslövs härader, 1971- Eslöv
Fögderi 1918-1946 Sjöbo, 1946- Eslöv
Kommun 1952-1970 Skarhult, 1971- Eslöv
Militär indelning Norra Skånes RegementeFrosta Kompani


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Attarp

Beltinge, Björnhusen

Dunahuset

Enevångshuset

Frölyckehuset, Fäladshuset

Grindtorpet

Hassleröd, Hedahuset, Holländarehuset, Hundsäng, Hästhagahuset

Jeppstorp

Kalfhusen, Kellstorp,Klemmedstorp, Kongshult, Kråkehuset, Kullahuset

Månstorp Stora

Nilstorp, Nybygget, Nygårdshusen

Påskelyckehuset

Skarhults by, Skarhults Gård, Skeglinge Lilla, Skogvaktarehuset, Soldattorpen, Ströö By

Tegelbruket, Trollelyckehuset, Trulstorps Gård

Wemberga, Wålaröd Lilla

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Östra Strö, Husförhörslängd 1841 - 1849 Ortregister

Jurisdictional information from: Riksarkivet, Östra Strö församling, at (NAD). May 2012.