Øyestad Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Øyestad, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Øyestad Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Arendal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Øyestad
Kommune Arendal
Skifteretten Nedenes
Tinglag Nedenes
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Strengjareiđ


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Øyestad prestegjeld (clerical distirct). Contains priest and sexton records for Øyestad (Øiestad) parish. Also included Fjære parish until 1845, when Fjære became its own clerical district; Froland until 1849, when Froland became its own clerical district; and Hisøy until 1872, when Hisøy became its own clerical district. Included christenings for Arendal church for the year 1804. Parish registers from 1630-1932.

  • Digitized Parish Registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]




  • 1801: The 1801 census for Øyestad clerical district includes Øyestad, Fjære, Froland, and Hisøy parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.A typewritten edition with indexes is available on microfiche. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).






Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Gundersen, Bergår; Asdal, Gunnar Knutsen; Murdal, Arne J.: Gamle gårder i Øyestad.

"Gårder i Øyestad er utarbeidet på grunnlag av stoff som er samlet av noen av Historielagets medlemmar gjennom 15 år. Gårdshistorien er beregnet å bli på 3 bind. Av praktiske grunner kommer vi med 3. bind først (når man følger gårdsnummerne)".

Biblioteket har bare bind 2 og 3.

Bind 2 har rettelser til bind nr. 3, siderne 5-6.

A history of the old farms in Øyestad in Aust-Agder county with genealogy of the people who lived on them. FHL 948.28/O1 D2

Bråstad, Kjell J., 1948-: Øyestad bygdebok.

Bibliografi: b. 2. s. 436-441.

Med register i bind 2. s. 443-462.

Innhold: b. 1. Gårdsnummer 1-25 -- b. 2. Gårdsnummer 26-47.

A genealogy of the people and their farms in Øyestad in Aust-Agder county. FHL 948.28/)1 D2.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

41 Aamholt lille, 36 Aas, 33 Aasbie, 26 Aasen, 36 Asdal, 5 Askehaugen, 47 Assæ lille,

36 Bakken, 33 Bie, 10 Bjelkevigen, 6 Bjelland, 36 Bjorbæk, 1 Bjørkebæk, 26 Bjørnum, 43 Blaagestad, 30 Bomsholmen, 43 Braastad,10 Braastadhaven, 20 Buens Laksefiskeri, 5 Bænken,

17 Drangen,

10 Eigelien, 23 Einerkjær, 17 Evjen,

10 Fiskebækken, 10 Fjeldmandspladsen, 24 Fogdemyren, 9 Furre, 8 Furremyr,

22 Ginnestad, 47 Glaværn, 36 Grandalen, 10 Granlien,

13 Hasledalen, 45 Haugaasdalen, 12 Haugen, 39 Hausland, 23 Helle, 14 Hullet, 17 Huodden, 36 Høiaasen,

1 Jamsmoen, 12 Jordet,

34 Klaadeborg, 10 Klamrene, 21 Klep, 22 Klinningsklev, 1 Kollaasen, 17 Kvassen,

2 Langemyr,14 Langemyr, 17 Lindtveid, 17 Livolden, 12 Lundevolden, 38 Lunnerød, 25 Lærestveid, 14 Løddesøl søndre, 12 Løddesøl øvre,10 Løfjeld,

41 Moen, 10 Muddelien, 30 Munkestøen, 36 Møllerpladsen,

29 Natvig, 28 Nedenes, 23 Nersten,12 Nokkevjen, 1 Nævesdal ytre eller nedre, 5 Nævesdal øvre,

18 Præstegaarden,

37 Ranneklev, 10 Rise og Nes med Kjennaasen, 11 Risholt, 10 Rossedalen, 18 Rossøen,17 Rydningen,39 Rydningen, 19 Rygenes Laksefiskeri, 21 Ræfsnespladsen, 30 Rød, 3 Røinaaen,

42 Sageneset, 43 Sageneset, 37 Sandstø ,35 Seldal, 10 Seljaasen, 15 Sillekjær, 31 Skarpenes, 45 Slottet, 44 Solberg, 47 Soleglad, 32 Sponevigen, 1 Stagersnes, 16 Steine, 45 Stoa, 32 Strømsbu vestre, 43 Stupind,1 Sundshaven, 17 Svaaen, 3 Svartodden, 1 Svinehaven, 28 Søboden,

26 Tengstveid, 27 Tengstveidkjærret, 47 Tversafveien, 17 Tykkeris,

1 Ulsmoen,

4 Veisebu, 7 Vigeland, 24 Væding,

43 Ødemoen, 45 Østensbu


Øyestad histories:

Aas, Adamshave, Aldershvile, Almåsen, Asbjørnsplassen, Asdal, Askedalen, Askehaugen, Aslakshave, Assæv, Assævmyr, Assævneset,

Bakkesteene, Bakken, Barlinddalen, Bekkesletta, Benken, Bergheia, Berntsplass, Bie, Birkelunden, Bjelkemyra, Bjelkeviga, Bjelland, Bjerkebekk, Bjorbekk, Bjørnsteinsmyr, Bjønnum, Bjønnumheien, Bjørkeli, Bjørnemyr, Bjørnsholla, Bjørnsplass, Bjønsteinsmyr, Blokken, Blågestad, Bomsholmen, Bratteberget, Bratteli, Brattåsen, Bryggerhusbakken, Bråstad, Bråstadhaven, Bråstadliene, Bråstadskogen, Bråten, Bua, Buflaten, Bunkene, Bødkerbugt, Bødkerplassen, Bølihaven, Børgesplassen,

Dalen, Dalene, Dalsjordet, Doppedalen, Drangen, Dyremyr, Dyreplass,

Eigelia, Eigelund, Eikås, Einerbakken, Einerhaugen, Einerkjerr, Ellensplass, Elseplass, Enerbakken, Engene, Engholmen, Evjen,

Falkeplassen, Fellesengen, Fiskebekk, Fiskebekken, Fjellmannsplassen, Fjellmyr, Fladen, Flageborg, Fleskestøkket, Fogdemyr, Fosseledet, Fosseli, Frelsmyr, Frilund, Fritun, Frivoidshaven, Fumpenborg, Furre, Furremyr, Færen,

Gamle Skarvedalen, Gausplass, Gjeldstø, Gjennestad, Gjessekjær, Gjøl, Glaværn, Goliplassen, Goutsplass, Gramshaven, Gramsplass, Grandalen, Granlia, Granlid, Granum, Granåsen, Graskjær, Gruben, Grønnvold, Gundersplass, Gårdalen,

Halvorsplass, Hammeren, Hammersholmen, Hansnes, Hasledalen, Haugen, Haugerød, Haugum, Haugåsdalen, Hausland, Haven, Heia, Heidalen, Heien, Heieråsbakken, Helle, Hermannsplass, Hestehaven, Holla, Hollemyr, Holmen, Holmene, Hovet, Hullet, Huodden, Høgda, Høyda, Høyåsen, Håkedal,

Ingeborgshave,

Jamsmoen, Jerkholmen, Jespersplass, Joda, Johannesplass, Jomfruland, Jordet, Judedalen, Julianshaven, Jørgen-bruket,

Kaninholmen, Karlsbruket, Kirkemyr, Kirstensplass, Kjeldal, Kjeldalstykket, Kjeldsplass, Kjennåsen, Kjerret, Kjøbenhavn, Klepp, Klinningsklev, Klådeborg, Knudsplass, Kollarhaugen, Kringlemyr, Kristensplass, Krogene, Kullebunden, Kvassen, Kverndal, Kålåsen,

Laksefiskeri, Langekjerr, Langemyr, Langevold, Langteinen, Lars-bruket, Laubakken, Leheia, Leing, Lerestveit, Lerholla, Lia, Libro, Liehaugen, Lien, Liene, Lindtveit, Lindtveitmyra, Lindåsen, Livolden, Lunnerød, Lunåsen, Lyngemyr, Lyngmyr, Løddesol, Løddesøldalen, Løvbakken, Løvli,

Mad-bruket, Madsesplass, Mikkelsbruk, Mjønnevolden, Moen, Moltemyr, Momyra, Momyrhaven, Monen, Mortensplassen, Muddelia, Munkestø, Myra, Myretangen, Myrhus, Møllerplass,

Natvig, Naudenes, Nedenes, Nergård, Nersten, Neset, Nesheim, Nevesdal, Niels-bruket, Nokevja, Nokevji, Nokkehaugen, Norbø, Nordbø, Nordheim, Nordkjenn, Norgård, Norli, Nygård, Nygårdshaven, Nykjerr, Nødebroen,

Odden, Odland, Olsbo, Omholt, Omholtmoen, Ospelunden,

Pikkehaven, Plassen,

Ramsøya, Rannekleiv, Ravneberger, Refsnes, Refsnesplassen, Rise, Risehaven, Riseplassen, Risetangen, Risholt, Romundsheia, Ross, Rossedalen, Rossøya, Rugshaven, Rusenholt, Rydningen, Rygene, Rød, Rønningen, Røynebu, Røynåna,

Sageneset, Sagmyren, Sagodden, Salvestjern, Sandberget, Sandersplass, Sandkleven, Sandnes, Sandstø, Savbakken, Savstuen, Seldal, Seldalsmyren, Seljevolden, Seljåsdalen, Seljåsen, Sillekjær, Skarpenes, Skarpenestangen, Skarvedalen, Skauen, Skibberheia, Skinnerlien, Skoghaven, Skogshaven, Skomagerstykket, Skredderplassen, Skrubbedalen, Skyttervolden, Sletta, Slottet, Slåtta, Slåttelia, Smalsundet, Smedplassen, Snippeklev, Solbakken, Solberg, Solberg-Plassen, Soleglad, Solegladmyr, Solli, Spikkelia, Spillemannsplass, Spirene, Stagernes, Stampebakken, Stampen, Stea, Steine, Steinelien, Stoa, Stokkedalen, Stokken, Store Assæv, Store Askedalen, Storemoen, Storemyr, Strømmen, Strømsbu, Strømsodden, Stumpehaugen, Stupind, Sundshaven, Svart-Evje Sag, Svoa, Sørli, Sørsvan, Såbuliå,

Tangen, Templet, Tingstveit, Tingstveitkjerret, Tingstveitåsen, Tjæregravmyra, Tollenes, Torstensplass, Trættestykket, Tukarten, Tversavveien, Tykkeris, Tyskemyr,

Ulfsmoen, Urdalen,

Valeberget, Valeplassen, Vangen, Varpet, Vavollen, Veding, Vedingkjerr, Vedingsvoll, Veisebu, Vestereng, Vesterhaven, Viga, Vrengen, Vrengemyr,

Wigeland, Willumsholmen,

Ødegård, Ødemoen, Ørbekk, Østensbu, Østerhave, Øvremyr, Øyestad, Øyufsplass, Øyursplass,

Åheim, Ålia, Årli, Åsbie, Åsen

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes judicial district to 1824
*1852-1892 Family History Library
*1852-1904 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Bråstad, Kjell J. . Øyestad Bygdebok Bind 1. Kragerø: Naper Boktrykkeri, 1981.

Bråstad, Kjell J.. Øyestad Bygdebok Bind 2. Kragerø: Naper Boktrykkeri, 1981.

Gundersen, Bergår, et al. Gamle Gårder i Øyestad Bind 2. Oslo: Hestholms Boktrykkeri A.s., 1982.

Gundersen, Bergår, et al. Gamle Gårder i Øyestad Bind 3. Arendal: Harald Seljåsen Offset, 1981.]