Aberffraw, Anglesey, Wales Genealogy
History[edit | edit source]
ABERFFRAW (ABER-FRAW), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Anglesey, hundred of Malltraeth, county of Anglesey, North Wales, 9 miles (S. W.) from Llangevni. This place, which derives its name from its situation at the mouth of the small river Fraw, was distinguished at a very early period as the principal residence of the ancient princes of North Wales. The church, dedicated to St. Beuno, is an ancient structure, 20 yards in length and 12 in breadth, containing 800 sittings. In the tything of Tyndryval anciently stood a chapel designated Capel Mair, or "St. Mary's chapel." There are places of worship for Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists. A ruined chapel, called Eglwys y Beili, was rebuilt for a school, in 1729. 
- Aberffraw (ocasionally spelled Aberffo; Abar Fraw; Aber-Fraw) is a parish and market town in Anglesey, Wales. ABERFFRAW, a parish in the hundred of Malltraeth, in the county of Anglesey, North Wales, 16 miles S.W. of Beaumaris. It is a station on the Holyhead railway. Bangor is the post town.To learn additional information about this parish go to Genuki.org.uk.
- An Anglesey time line highlights history from 1282 to the 2010.
|County bef 1974||add here|
|County 1 Apr 1974-31 Mar 1996||add here|
|County 1 Apr 1996 -||add here|
|Civ Reg District||Anglesey (1881)|
|Reg Sub-district||Bryngwan (1881)|
|Probate Court||add here|
|Rural Deanery||add here|
|Poor Law Union||Holyhead|
Administration[edit | edit source]
|Type of Jurisdiction||Name|
|Church of England/ Church in Wales Diocese||Bangor|
|Civil Registration District||Anglesey|
What Do You Want to Find?[edit | edit source]
To start your search, decide when your ancestor lived. If he or she lived between 1837-1911, start by searching civil registration and census records. If they lived before 1837, use church records and probate records. Read more about these records below.
Records[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Several Internet sites list names or indexes to the records, including:
Church records[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census for the entire country was started in 1841 and continued every ten years. The most recent census available to the public is 1911. Learn more about these records, including the information given in them, by reading the census article.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Archives Wales for more useful information.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in Wales. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here is a link to a web site with gazetteers and maps.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 1-12. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 August 2014.