Acle, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Acle, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Acle, Norfolk
Acle St Edmund.JPG
Acle St Edmund
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Walsham
County Norfolk, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Blofield
Registration District Blofield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blofield
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ACLE (St. Edmund), a parish, in the union of Blofield, hundred of Walsham, E. division of Norfolk, 11 miles (E.) from Norwich. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Blofield 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records[edit | edit source]

Acle, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = Norfolk Parish Registers Browse (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
ACLE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1664-1812

FMP 1664-1883 1664-1858 1664-1868
FREG 1600-1883
1600-1837
1600-1868
FS ATs 1600-1814 1600-1814 1600-1814
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1664-1883 Undefined 1664-1858 Undefined 1664-1868
IGI 1664-1847 1667-1836
JOIN
1665-1837

PALL
1664-1812

TGEN 1847-1883 1847-1883 1665-1858 1665-1858 1813-1868 1813-1868

Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD

Non-Conformist Records[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Page, BA. Raymond A. The Page Family In Norfolk - The Page's of Walcot, Acle Ormesby. History and family tree of Henry Page of Walcot Acle with the following surnames, Hexam, Watts, Goodwin, Warde, Bullocke, Short, Jacks, Bennet, Brown, Page, Goose, Worts, Greenacre and Appleton, with reference to South Walsham, St. Mary 1629, Acle, Walcot, Ormesby and Saxthorpe. Article has dates from 1422-1707, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol. 2,pt.11 page 151-153, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol. 2,pt11.

Land Records[edit | edit source]

1597 Subsidy Taxes courtesy of Norfold Transcription Archives

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Blofield Workhouse

Norfolk Poor Law Union, Norfolk Genealogys

The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Bradestone, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates.


Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Military[edit | edit source]

WW1 War Memorial courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives

WW2 War Memorial courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 9-12 Date accessed: 02 April 2013.
  2. ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
  3. ↑ 'Norfolk Parish Registers Browse', findmypast, accessed 31 July 2015.
  4. ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
  5. ↑ 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  6. ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
  7. ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  8. ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  9. ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  10. ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.
  11. ↑ 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
  12. ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Acle', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.
v • d • e
Links to Norfolk, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Acle  • Alburgh  • Alby  • Aldborough  • Aldeby  • Alderford  • Alethorpe  • Anmer  • Antingham  • Arminghall  • Ashby St Mary  • Ashby with Oby and Thurne  • Ashill  • Ashmanhaugh  • Ashwellthorpe  • Ashwicken  • Aslacton  • Attleborough  • Attlebridge  • Aylmerton  • Aylsham  • Babingley  • Baconsthorpe  • Bacton  • Bagthorpe  • Bale  • Banham  • Banningham  • Barford  • Barmer  • Barney  • Barnham Broom  • Barningham Norwood  • Barningham Winter  • Barton Bendish St Andrew  • Barton Bendish St Mary and All Saints  • Barton Turf  • Bawburgh  • Bawdeswell  • Bawsey  • Bayfield  • Beachamwell All Saints with Shingham  • Beachamwell St Mary with St John  • Bedingham  • Beeston  • Beeston Regis  • Beeston St Andrew  • Beeston St Lawrence  • Beetley  • Beighton  • Belaugh  • Bergh Apton  • Bessingham  • Besthorpe  • Bexwell  • Billingford (near Foulsham)  • Billingford (near Scole)  • Billockby  • Binham  • Bintree  • Bircham Newton  • Bircham Tofts  • Bittering Parva  • Bixley  • Blakeney with Little Langham  • Blickling  • Blo’norton  • Blofield  • Bodham  • Bodney  • Bootton  • Boughton  • Bowthorpe  • Bracon Ash  • Bradfield  • Bramerton  • Brampton  • Brancaster  • Brandiston  • Brandon  • Brandon Parva  • Braydeston  • Breckles  • Bressingham  • Brettenham  • Bridgham  • Briningham  • Brinton  • Brisley  • Briston  • Brockdish  • Brooke  • Broome  • Broomsthorpe  • Brumstead  • Brundall  • Buckenham  • Buckenham New  • Buckenham Old  • Buckenham Parva  • Bunwell  • Burgh  • Burgh Parva  • Burgh St Margaret  • Burgh St Peter  • Burlingham St Andrew  • Burlingham St Edmund  • Burlingham St Peter  • Burnham Deepdale  • Burnham Norton  • Burnham Overy  • Burnham Sutton  • Burnham Thorpe  • Burnham Ulph  • Burnham Westgate  • Burston  • Buxton  • Bylaugh  • Caister  • Caister St Edmund with Markshall  • Caldecote  • Calthorpe  • Cantley  • Carbrooke  • Carleton Forehoe  • Carleton Rode  • Carleton St Peter  • Castle Rising  • Castleacre  • Caston  • Catfield  • Catton  • Cawston  • Central Wingland  • Chedgrave  • Choseley  • Claxton  • Clenchwarton  • Cley next the Sea  • Clippesby  • Cockley Cley  • Cockthorpe  • Colby  • Colkirk  • Colney  • Coltishall  • Colton  • Congham  • Corpusty  • Costessey  • Coston  • Cranwich  • Cranworth  • Crimplesham  • Cringleford  • Cromer  • Crostwick  • Crostwight  • Crownthorpe  • Croxton  • Denton  • Denver  • Deopham    • Dersingham  • Dickleburgh  • Didlington  • Dilham  • Diss  • Ditchingham  • Docking  • Downham Market  • Drayton  • Dunston  • Dunton cum Doughton  • Earlham  • Earsham  • East Barsham  • East Beckham  • East Bilney  • East Bradenham  • East Carleton  • East Dereham  • East Harling  • East Lexham  • East Raynham  • East Rudham  • East Ruston  • East Somerton  • East Tuddenham  • East Walton  • East Winch  • East Wretham  • Easton  • Eaton  • Eccles  • Edgefield  • Edingthorpe  • Ellingham  • Elsing  • Emneth  • Erpingham  • Fakenham  • Felbrigg  • Felmingham  • Felthorpe  • Feltwell  • Feltwell Anchor  • Fersfield  • Field Dalling  • Filby  • Fincham  • Fishley  • Flitcham with Appleton  • Flordon  • Fordham  • Forncett St Mary  • Forncett St Peter  • Foulden  • Foulsham  • Foxley  • Framingham Earl  • Framingham Pigot  • Freethorpe  • Frenze  • Frettenham  • Fring  • Fritton St Catherine  • Fulmodeston cum Croxton  • Fundenhall  • Garboldisham  • Garveston  • Gasthorpe  • Gateley  • Gayton  • Gayton Thorpe  • Gaywood  • Geldeston  • Gillingham  • Gimingham  • Gissing  • Glandford  • Gooderstone  • Great and Little Snarehill  • Great Bircham  • Great Cressingham  • Great Dunham  • Great Ellingham  • Great Fransham  • Great Hautbois  • Great Massingham  • Great Melton  • Great Moulton  • Great Plumstead  • Great Ryburgh  • Great Snoring  • Great Walsingham  • Great Witchingham  • Great Yarmouth  • Gresham  • Gressenhall  • Grimston  • Griston  • Guestwick  • Guist  • Gunthorpe  • Gunton  • Hackford  • Hackford with Whitwell  • Haddiscoe  • Hales  • Halvergate  • Hanworth  • Happisburgh  • Hapton  • Hardingham  • Hardley  • Hardwick  • Hargham  • Harpley  • Hassingham  • Haveringland  • Haynford  • Heacham  • Heckingham  • Hedenham  • Heigham  • Helhoughton  • Hellesdon  • Hellington  • Hemblington  • Hempnall  • Hempstead (near Holt)  • Hempstead (near North Walsham)  • Hempton  • Hemsby  • Hethel  • Hethersett  • Hevingham  • Heydon  • Hickling  • Hilborough  • Hilgay  • Hillington  • Hindolveston  • Hindringham  • Hingham  • Hockering  • Hockham  • Hockwold  • Hoe  • Holkham  • Holme Hale  • Holme next the Sea  • Holt  • Honing  • Honingham  • Horning  • Horningtoft  • Horsey  • Horsford  • Horsham St Faith with Newton St Faith  • Horstead  • Houghton  • Houghton on the Hill  • Houghton St Giles  • Hoveton St John  • Hoveton St Peter  • Howe  • Hunstanton  • Hunworth  • Ickburgh  • Illington  • Ingham  • Ingoldisthorpe  • Ingworth  • Intwood  • Irstead  • Islington  • Itteringham with Mannington  • Kelling  • Kempstone  • Kenninghall  • Keswick  • Ketteringham  • Kettlestone  • Kilverstone  • Kimberley  • King’s Lynn All Saints  • King’s Lynn St John  • King’s Lynn St Margaret  • King’s Lynn St Nicholas  • Kirby Bedon  • Kirby Cane  • Kirstead  • Knapton  • Lakenham  • Lakenham St Mark  • Lammas with Little Hautbois  • Langford  • Langham Episcopi  • Langley  • Larling  • Lessingham  • Letheringsett  • Limpenhoe  • Lingwood  • Litcham  • Little Barningham  • Little Cressingham  • Little Dunham  • Little Ellingham  • Little Fransham  • Little Massingham  • Little Melton  • Little Plumstead  • Little Poringland  • Little Ryburgh  • Little Snoring  • Little Walsingham  • Little Witchingham  • Loddon  • Long Stratton St Mary  • Long Stratton St Michael  • Longham  • Ludham  • Lynford  • Lyng  • Marham  • Marlingford  • Marsham  • Martham  • Matlaske  • Mattishall  • Mattishall Burgh  • Mautby  • Melton Constable  • Mendham  • Merton  • Methwold  • Metton  • Middleton  • Mileham  • Mintlyn  • Morley St Botolph  • Morley St Peter  • Morningthorpe  • Morston  • Morton on the Hill  • Moulton St Mary  • Mulbarton  • Mundesley  • Mundford  • Mundham  • Narborough  • Narford  • Neatishead  • Necton  • Needham  • New Buckenham  • New Catton Christ Church  • New Houghton  • Newton by Castle Acre  • Newton Flotman  • North Barsham  • North Creake  • North Elmham  • North Lopham  • North Lynn  • North Pickenham  • North Runcton with Hardwicke and Setchey  • North Tuddenham  • North Walsham  • North Wootton  • Northrepps  • Northwold  • Norton Subcourse  • Norwich All Saints  • Norwich Cathedral  • Norwich County Gaol and House of Correction  • Norwich Liberty of the Town Close  • Norwich St Andrew  • Norwich St Augustine  • Norwich St Benedict  • Norwich St Clement  • Norwich St Edmund  • Norwich St Etheldreda  • Norwich St George Colegate  • Norwich St George Tombland  • Norwich St Giles  • Norwich St Gregory  • Norwich St Helen  • Norwich St James with Pockthorpe  • Norwich St John de Sepulchre  • Norwich St John Maddermarket  • Norwich St John Timberhill  • Norwich St Julian  • Norwich St Lawrence  • Norwich St Margaret  • Norwich St Martin at Oak  • Norwich St Martin at Palace  • Norwich St Mary Coslany  • Norwich St Mary in the Marsh  • Norwich St Michael at Plea  • Norwich St Michael at Thorn  • Norwich St Michael Coslany  • Norwich St Paul  • Norwich St Peter Hungate  • Norwich St Peter Mancroft  • Norwich St Peter Parmentergate  • Norwich St Peter Southgate  • Norwich St Saviour  • Norwich St Simon and St Jude  • Norwich St Stephen  • Norwich St Swithin  • Old Buckenham  • Ormesby St Margaret with Scratby  • Ormesby St Michael  • Oulton  • Outwell  • Overstrand  • Ovington  • Oxborough  • Oxnead  • Oxwick  • Palling  • Paston  • Pensthorpe  • Pentney  • Plumstead   • Poringland  • Postwick  • Potter Heigham  • Pudding Norton  • Pulham Market  • Pulham St Mary the Virgin  • Quarles  • Quidenham  • Rackheath  • Ranworth with Panxworth  • Raveningham  • Redenhall with Harleston  • Redmere  • Reedham  • Reepham with Kerdiston  • Repps with Bastwick  • Reymerston  • Riddlesworth  • Ridlington  • Ringland  • Ringstead  • Rockland All Saints  • Rockland St Mary  • Rockland St Peter  • Rollesby  • Roudham  • Rougham  • Roughton  • Roydon (near Diss)  • Roydon (near King's Lynn)  • Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland  • Runcton, North with Hardwicke and Setchey  • Runhall  • Runham  • Runton  • Rushall  • Rushford  • Ryston with Roxham  • Saham Toney  • Salhouse  • Salle  • Salthouse  • Sandringham  • Santon  • Saxlingham  • Saxlingham Nethergate  • Saxthorpe  • Scarning  • Sco Ruston  • Scole  • Scottow  • Scoulton  • Sculthorpe  • Sedgeford  • Seething  • Sharrington  • Shelfanger  • Shelton  • Shereford  • Sheringham  • Shernborne  • Shimpling  • Shipdham  • Shotesham St Mary  • Shouldham  • Shouldham Thorpe  • Shropham  • Sidestrand  • Sisland  • Skeyton  • Sloley  • Smallburgh   • Snetterton  • Snettisham    • South Acre  • South Creake  • South Lopham  • South Pickenham  • South Raynham  • South Walsham St Lawrence  • South Walsham St Mary  • South Wootton  • Southburgh  • Southery  • Southrepps  • Southwood  • Sparham  • Spixworth  • Sporle with Palgrave  • Sprowston  • Stalham  • Stanfield  • Stanford  • Stanhoe  • Starston  • Stibbard  • Stiffkey  • Stockton  • Stody  • Stoke Ferry  • Stoke Holy Cross  • Stokesby with Herringby  • Stow Bardolph  • Stow Bedon  • Stradsett  • Stratton Strawless  • Strumpshaw  • Suffield  • Surlingham  • Sustead  • Sutton  • Swaffham  • Swafield  • Swainsthorpe  • Swannington  • Swanton Abbot  • Swanton Morley  • Swanton Novers  • Swardeston  • Syderstone  • Tacolneston  • Tasburgh  • Tatterford  • Tattersett  • Taverham  • Terrington St Clement  • Terrington St John  • Testerton  • Tharston  • Thelveton  • Themelthorpe  • Thetford St Cuthbert  • Thetford St Mary the Less  • Thetford St Peter  • Thompson  • Thornage  • Thornham  • Thorpe  • Thorpe Abbots  • Thorpe Market  • Thorpe next Haddiscoe  • Threxton  • Thrigby  • Thurgarton  • Thurlton  • Thurning  • Thursford  • Thurton  • Thuxton  • Thwaite (near Alby)  • Thwaite (near Loddon)  • Tibenham  • Tilney All Saints  • Tilney St Lawrence  • Titchwell  • Tittleshall  • Tivetshall St Margaret  • Tivetshall St Mary  • Toftrees  • Tofts Monks  • Topcroft  • Tottenhill  • Tottington  • Trimingham  • Trowse  • Trunch  • Tunstall  • Tunstead  • Tuttington  • Twyford  • Upton  • Upwell  • Wacton  • Walcot  • Walpole St Andrew  • Walpole St Peter  • Walsoken  • Warham All Saints  • Warham St Mary  • Waterden  • Watlington  • Watton  • Waxham  • Weasenham All Saints  • Weasenham St Peter  • Weeting All Saints with St Mary  • Welborne  • Wellingham  • Wells next the Sea  • Welney  • Wendling  • Wereham  • West Acre  • West Barsham  • West Beckham  • West Bilney  • West Bradenham  • West Dereham  • West Harling  • West Lexham  • West Lynn  • West Newton  • West Poringland  • West Raynham  • West Rudham  • West Somerton  • West Tofts  • West Walton  • West Winch  • West Wretham  • Westfield  • Weston Longville  • Westwick  • Weybourne  • Wheatacre  • Whinburgh  • Whissonsett  • Wickhampton  • Wicklewood  • Wickmere with Wolterton  • Wiggenhall St Germans  • Wiggenhall St Mary Magdalen  • Wiggenhall St Mary the Virgin  • Wiggenhall St Peter  • Wighton  • Wilby  • Wilton  • Wimbotsham  • Winfarthing  • Winterton  • Witton (near Brundall)  • Witton (near North Walsham)  • Wiveton with Glandford  • Wolferton  • Wood Dalling  • Wood Norton  • Woodbastwick  • Woodrising  • Woodton  • Wormegay  • Worstead  • Worthing  • Wramplingham  • Wreningham  • Wretton  • Wroxham  • Wymondham  • Yarmouth  • Yaxham  • Yelverton

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories
Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Acle,_Norfolk_Genealogy&oldid=4153794"