Affpuddle, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Affpuddle, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Affpuddle, Dorset
St Laurence's Church, Affpuddle, Dorset.jpg
St Laurence's Church, Affpuddle
Type Civil parish
Ecclesiastical parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hundredsbarrow
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham & Purbeck
Registration District Wareham
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset

Parish History[edit | edit source]

AFF PUDDLE, a parish in Wareham district, Dorset; on the River Piddle, 4 miles N of Moreton railway station and 8 ENE of Dorchester. It contains the hamlet of Pallington and the tything of Bryants-Puddle.[1].

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Online Affpuddle, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1720
1720
1705
Images
1720-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1879 Ancestry[3] 1813-1909 Ancestry[4] 1813-1939 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1728-1850 findmypast[6] 1731-1837 findmypast[7] 1705-1970 findmypast[8]
1731-1880 OnlineParishClerks 1736-1837 Joiner[9] 1722-1837 findmypast[10]
1736-1849 OnlineParishClerks 1731-1880 OnlineParishClerks


Aff Puddle parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[11]
Aff Puddle Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1734-1879
1736-1849
1734-1879

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870-72. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Dorset Baptism Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Dorset,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  9. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 21 May 2012.
  10. 'Dorset Burial Index,' Find My Past, accessed 21 May 2012.
  11. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.