Aguadilla, Puerto Rico Genealogy
| Puerto Rico Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Puerto Rico Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Municipality of Aguadilla family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
The present territory of Aguadilla was taken from the territory of Aguada in 1775. Spanish royals populated the area. It is well known for its busy part that serves all ships that travel from Europe to Havana, Cuba, and Mexico.
Aguadilla was the site of the United State's Ramey Air Force Base until 1952. The base is now home to the Puerto Rican Ports department, the International airport, and a satellite of the University of Puerto Rico. Also, a variety of government agencies such as the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, and the Puerto Rio Police and National Guard are housed at the base.
As of 2010, the population of Aguadilla was 60,949. [1]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, Aguadilla
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Catholic Church Records, 1645-1969, Aguadilla, browse images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Aguadilla, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aguadilla,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/12/2020.
