Aibonito, Puerto Rico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Puerto Rico Wiki Topics
Puerto Rico flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Puerto Rico Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Municipality of Aibonito family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Municipality of Aibonito
Ask the
Community


History[edit | edit source]

Taino inhabitants (indigenous peoples), had several settlements in the Aibonito area. Then the Spanish arrived and built homes and ranches. This land was developed into a town by 1824.
The town Catholic church was built in 1825, which was replaced by a current church in 1887.
The Spanish-American war of 1898 pitted both Spanish and Puerto Rican soldiers who were able to defeat the American troops. But Spain surrendered after a power struggle in Madrid.
Hurricane Maria in 2017, set off numerous landslides and large amounts of rain within the area of Aivonito.
As of 2010, the current population of Aibonita was listed as 25,900. [1]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]


Census Records[edit | edit source]

Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Aibonito, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aibonito,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/13/20.