Alburgh, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Alburgh, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Alburgh, Norfolk | |
|---|---|
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Earsham |
| County | Norfolk, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Depwade |
| Registration District | Depwade |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1540 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1691 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Redenhall |
| Diocese | Norwich |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk |
| Location of Archive | |
| Norfolk Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Alburgh (All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Depwade, and the hundred of Earsham, Norfolk. Alburgh parish, is 3½ miles NE of Harleston, and 6 miles W of Bungay, it is a large village, in the diocese of Norwich and county of Norfolk.[1][2]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Alburgh, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| Alburgh, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| BOYD | 1541-1753 | |||||
| FMP | 1540-1978 | 1540-1975 | 1540-1932 | |||
| FREG | 1563-1870 | 1563-1901 | 1563-1901 | |||
| FS ATs | 1725-1812 | 1725-1812 | 1725-1812 | |||
| FS BTs | Undefined | Undefined | Undefined | Undefined | Undefined | Undefined |
| FS PRs | Undefined | 1540-1900 | Undefined | 1540-1903 | Undefined | 1540-1901 |
| JOIN | 1813-1837 | |||||
| TGEN | 1788-1866 | 1788-1866 | 1793-1812 | 1793-1812 | ||
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1613-1901 England, Norfolk Non-conformist Records, 1613-1901 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Find my Past census search 1841-1901
1891 Census Surname Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Depwade Poor Law Union, Norfolk Genealogy
See also England, Norfolk Poor Law Union Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Norfolk Poor Law Union, Norfolk Genealogys
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Francis White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory, of Norfolk 1854, pp. 376-377 http://apling.freeservers.com/Villages/Alburgh54.htm
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50747 Date accessed: 21 August 2012.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- ↑ 'Norfolk Parish Registers Browse', findmypast, accessed 31 July 2015.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 21 February 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 22 March 2014.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- ↑ 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
- ↑ 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
- ↑ 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Alburgh', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.
