Alciston, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Alciston, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||West Firle|
|Parish registers: 1575|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ALCISTON, a parish and a hundred in Sussex. The parish lies in the district of Lewes, 1 mile S of Berwick railway station, and 6½ SE of Lewes. The hundred of Alciston is in the rape of Pevensey, and comprises the parishes of Alciston, Alfriston, and Lullington. See also.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Alciston, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Alciston, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Alciston
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Land Tax Returns 1785[edit | edit source]
List of land owner and /or occupiers in Alciston and Alfriston. Article to be found in the Susex Family Historian Magazine, vol. 1. #1. June 1973, pages 13-14, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2 su
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)]. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 20-26. Date accessed and adapted: 13 December 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 27 October 2014.