To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Aldington, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Aldington, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aldington, Kent
Aldington St Martin Kent.jpg
Aldington St Martin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bircholt Franchise and Barony; Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1640
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Parish History[edit | edit source]

ALDINGTON (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, partly in the liberty of Romney Marsh, but chiefly in the franchise and barony of Bircholt, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 5½ miles W by N from Hythe. [1]

Aldington is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent, see Kent Wikipedia. The Aldington gang were local smugglers in Napoleonic time for further history see Aldington Wikipedia

Aldington St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury; Smeeth, Kent was formed as a chapelry from this parish. A map of the parish boundary is available at a church near you

The church of St Martin dates from the 12th century and the 16th century tower became a landmark for seamen. The church of St Martin Church Lane Aldington has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 314-327 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See East Ashford Registration District Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Aldington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[8]
Aldington Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1680-1911
1681-1837; 1754-1823 (Banns)
1680-1900
FREG
1681-1899

FS PRs 1823-1900 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Aldington are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832

Images for Aldington, Hurst, Newington and West Hythe are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 31-34. Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  8. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.