To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Allegan County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Allegan County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Allegan County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 2, 1831
County Seat Allegan
Courthouse
Address Allegan County Courthouse
113 Chestnut St.
Allegan, MI 49010-1362
Phone: 616-673-0450
Allegan County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County name was coined by Henry Rowe Schoolcraft to sound like a Native American word. The County has Allegan as its seat and the County was created 1831. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[1]

Allegan County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1835 1867 1836 1836 1839 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County Clerk has birth and death records from from 1867, marriage records from 1835, divorce, court and land records from 1836 and military discharge records.
Probate Court has probate records from 1836. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1831--Allegan County was created 2 March 1831 from Barry County. It was organized 7 September 1835.  County seat: Allegan [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

{{Populated places For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Townships


Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

City Directories[edit | edit source]

1898 South Haven Directory This directory includes Casco Township residents and lists the township section number, whether owned or rented, and number of acres.

Court[edit | edit source]


Allegan County Courts

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Allegan County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Ottawa CountyKent CountyBarry CountyKalamazoo CountyVan Buren CountyMI ALLEGAN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Allegan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Allegan County.

- 17th Regiment, Michigan Infantry, Company E

Online Records

World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Michigan Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Allegan County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Allegan and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

See also How to order Michigan Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

  • Allegan County Historical Society
    13 Walnut Street
    Allegan, MI 49010
    Telephone Number: 616-673-4853
  • Saugatuck-Douglas Historical Society
    PO Box 619
    Douglas, MI 49406
    Website
  • Then and Now Historical and Genealogical Society
    of E. Allegan County
    532 N. Main
    Wayland, MI 49348-104
  • Wayland Area Tree Tracers
    129 W. Cedar Street
    Wayland, MI 49348
  • Western Michigan Genealogical Society
    c/o Grand Rapids Public Library
    111 Library Street
    NE Grand Rapids, MI 49503-3268
    Website

Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Websites
[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Allegan County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegan_County,_Michigan."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allegan County, Michigan . Page 343-351 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 346-349.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Allegan County, Michigan page 343, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Allegan, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allegan_County,_Michigan, accessed 22 August 2019.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.