Alresford, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Alresford, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Hampshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Alresford|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of Old Alresford with New Alresford and Medstead; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ALRESFORD, NEW, a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the liberty of Alresford, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 6 miles (N. E. by E.) from Winchester, and 57 (S. W. by W.) from London, on the high road to Winchester.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Alresford, Hampshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|NEW ALRESFORD PARISH Online Records|
Mundy, Muriel. Grave Remarks. A transcription and index of the New Alresford Parish, facsimile of St. John the Baptist Church, also facsimile of some of the french Prisoners Graves, burials, some from 1765 onwards, including foreigners who were Prisoners of War on Parole, mainly french. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian no. 14, no. 1, May 1987, pages 30-33, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Watkin, Jeff. The Hazelgrove Family - Butchers of Alresford for Four Generations. A picture of Hazelgrove's Shop in East Street, Alresford c.1905 with some of the family standing outside. History of the family starting in 1832-1966. Article to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII, no.4, Feb. 1986, page 227-229. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12 1985-1986.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>
Websites[edit | edit source]
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 44-49
- 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.