Alston with Garrigill, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Alston with Garrigill, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Alston with Garrigill, Cumberland|
|Poor Law Union||Alston with Garrigill|
|Parish registers: 1700; Separate registers exist for Garrigill beginning 1699|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762; Separate records exist for Garrigill beginning 1760|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
GARRIGILL, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Alston, Leath ward, E. division of Cumberland, 3 miles (E. S. E.) from Alston-Moor. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans have places of worship.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Parish registers of Alston, 1700-1960 at the FHL
Parish registers for Garrigill, 1706-1959 at the FHL
Alston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|ALSTON PARISH (1762) Online Records|
Garrigill, Cumberland chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Garrigill Online Records|
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/111 March 1760-1840 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. For some Garrigill transcripts February 1784-Sept 1840 it is necessary to view the Alston transcripts. The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Alston transcripts can be found at DDR/EA/PBT/2/8 March 1762-1840 and include the Garrigill transcripts February 1784-March 1840 see also the seperate transcripts for Garrigill referred to above.
In addition the transcripts for the Alston and Haltwhistle Friends Burial Ground register transcripts are held at DDR/EA/PBT/2/9 for 1873-1884 and include Allendale, Alston, Edmundbyers and Haltwhistle Friends.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Protestant Dissenters
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Primitive Methodists
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Alston on GENUKI
Garrigill on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]