Alveston, Warwickshire Genealogy
|County||Warwickshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Stratford on Avon|
|Registration District||Stratford on Avon|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Pre-1851 - Court of the Peculiar of Hampton Lucy; Post-1850 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Alveston, is a village and a parish in Stratford on Avon district, Warwickshire. The village is 2¼ miles ENE of Stratford-on-Avon railway station; the post office is under Stratford-on-Avon. The parish contains the village of Tiddington.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed : 12 October, 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Guide to Alveston, Warwickshire Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Warwickshire, Warks or Warwicks, is an inland county located in the mid-section of England.
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Warwickshire.
Civil Districts[edit | edit source]
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Warwickshire was divided into a number of registration districts, each containing several parishes. The index to the civil records gives the name of the district where an event took place. Click here to see a list of the civil districts in Warwickshire and the parishes covered by each. Read more about England Civil Registration.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
See a list of the parishes of Warwickshire with links to articles.
Probate Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Before 1858, every town and parish in Warwickshire was under the probate jurisdiction of several ecclesiastical courts. To read more about probate records and see a list of Warwickshire towns and parishes and the probate courts that had jurisdiction over them, go to Warwickshire Probate Records.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Warwickshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Warwickshire Resources and help pages. (Free).
www.warwickshire.gov.uk: Warwickshire County Council. Iincludes: Calendars of Prisoners, 1800-1900, Tithe Apportionments, Victuallers, etc.
archivesunlocked.warwickshire.gov.uk: Warwickshire Record Office Catalogue
Familyseach.org: Online Warwickshire Parish Registers, 1538-1900 A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
thegenealogist.co.uk: Subscription website but free access in Family History Centers: includes a few directories, school registers, and land owners in 1873.