Ancoats St Andrew, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Ancoats St Andrew, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ancoats St Andrew, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Manchester|
|Parish registers: 1900|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Ancoats (St Andrew) is a chapelry in the boundary of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys Ancient Parish. The district church of Ancoats is in the later English style, with a tower, was erected in Travis-street. It was dedicated to St. Andrew.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Ancoats St Andrew Chapelry and all its additional contemporary chapelries (5), possessed chapelry registers of baptisms, marriages and burials. These have been indexed or transcribed and are available online at no cost, as follows:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|ANCOATS ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1831) Indexes|
|ANCOATS ALL SOULS Chapelry (1840) Indexes|
|ANCOATS CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1822) Indexes - a dissenters chapel after 1857|
|ANCOATS ST JAMES THE LESS Chapelry (1867) Indexes|
|FS||1874-1920 - part.||1871-1930 - part.||None Extant|
|ANCOATS ST JUDE Chapelry (1837) Indexes|
|ANCOATS ST MARTIN Chapelry (1865) Indexes|
|ANCOATS ST PETER Chapelry (1860) - see under MANCHESTER ST PETER|
Ancoats St Andrews is one of six chapels comprising the township; and it was one of at least 150 chapels in total comprising the whole of Manchester Parish's boundary (by 1880).
The 'mother' or ancient parish of Manchester City is the Cathedral of Manchester, called Our Lady, St George and St Denys Cathedral.
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
If you do not locate your ancestor in the list of Ancoats chapelry links and in Manchester Cathedral links listed above, before you research in any other Lancashire parish, you must include a thorough search into all of Manchester City's attached chapelries (over 150 of them)! Unfortunately, Manchester Cathedral (the parish) is England's largest parish; thus each chapelry's baptism, marriage and burial registers (where extant) must be searched. To help you identify all of Manchester's chapelries, and then search what's online for each one of Manchester City's chapelries and district churches--view a complete list of all its chapels HERE (scroll down to "Church Records").
Non-Conformists[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Roman Catholic Church of St. Joseph, Ancoats District: Baptisms 1883-1903: Courtesy of Online Parish Clerks
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Ancoats St Andrew in Manchester on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.