Andorra Genealogy

Europe

Andorra

Guide to Andorra ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Andorra Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Records Civil Registration Genealogies Land and Property	Military Records Notarial Records Online Records Probate Records Religious Records
Andorra Background
Gazetteers History Languages	Cultural Groups Maps For Further Reading
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Country Information

Andorra is a country in Europe bordered by Spain and France. The official language is Catalan.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Andorra Research Links to articles on getting started with Andorra research. Andorra Census Andorra Church Records

Andorra Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Andorra research. AndorraGenWeb Andorra Genealogy Queries La Societat Catalana de Genealogia

Andorra Online Genealogy Records

Ask the Community

Andorra Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Andorra.

Map of Andorra with its seven parishes labelled.

Parishes

Andorra consists of seven communities known as parishes. Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Andorra. See Andorra Church Records for addresses. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wikipedia article listing more information. Some parishes have a further territorial subdivision; Ordino, La Massana and Sant Julià de Lòria are subdivided into quarts (quarters), while Canillo is subdivided into 10 veïnats (neighborhoods). Those mostly coincide with villages, which are found in all parishes. Each parish has its own elected mayor who is the nominal head of the local government known as a comú in Catalan.

Andorra la Vella Parish Villages: Andorra la Vella itself, La Margineda and Santa Coloma. Website Canillo Parish Villages: Soldeu, Bordes d'Envalira, El Tarter, Sant Pere, Ransol, Els Plans, El Vilar, l'Armiana, l'Aldosa, El Forn, Incles, Prats, Meritxell and Molleres. Website Encamp Parish Villages: Encamp, Vila, El Pas de la Casa, Grau Roig, el Tremat, la Mosquera and Les Bons. Website Escaldes-Engordany Parish Villages: les Escaldes, Engordany, Els Vilars d'Engordany, Engolasters, and El Fener Website La Massana Parish Villages: La Massana (the capital city itself), Pal, Arinsal, Anyós, Erts, Sispony, L'Aldosa, and Escàs. Other settlements are Xixerella, Mas de Ribafeta, El Pui, and Puiol del Piu. Website Ordino Parish Villages: Ordino, El Serrat, Ansalonga, Sornàs, La Cortinada, Llorts, Segudet, Arans, Les Salines and Arcalís. Website Sant Julia de Loria Parish Villages:Sant Julia de Loria, Bixessarri, Aixàs, Aixovall, Certers, Llumeneres, Nagol, Aixirivall, Auvinyà, Juberri, Fontaneda, and Canòlic. Website

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
• Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
• Historical Records
• Family History Center locator map