To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Andrew County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Savanna
Organized: January 29, 1841
Parent County(s): Platte Purchase[1]
Neighboring Counties
Buchanan  • Dekalb  • Doniphan (KS)  • Gentry  • Holt  • Nodaway
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriAndrewCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Andrew County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Andrew County, Missouri is located in Northwest and named for Andrew Jackson Davis. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Andrew County Courthouse
P.O. Box 206
411 Court Street
Savannah, MO 64485-0206
Phone: 816-324-3624
Andrew County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce and court records from 1841, land and military records.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1841. [3]

Andrew County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1841 1883 1841 1841 1841 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1841 Andrew County was created 29 January 1841 from the Platte Purchase.
  • County seat: Savanna[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places in Andrew County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Rootsweb

  • 1803 - what would become the state was a part of the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1820 - Missouri became a state.
  • 1821 - Lewis and Clark began their explorations of the area.
  • 1837 February - local tribes signed a treaty giving up their rights to land east of the Missouri River in what is now northwestern Missouri. This was called the Platte Purchase.
  • 1841 January 29 - Andrew County was formally organized from part of this "Platte Purchase".
  • 1844 - the Mormon pioneers were in process of moving to Utah.
  • 1849 - The California gold rush saw even faster westward expansion.
Green check.png
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.




Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Andrew County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Hodges, Nadine. Andrew County, Missouri, marriage records, 1841-1856 and early settlers. 1967. Online at FamilySearch (Free)
  • History of Andrew and De Kalb counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present; together with sundry personal, business and professional sketches and family records, besides a condensed history of the state of Missouri, etc. Reprint. Originally published: St. Louis : Goodspeed Publishing Co., 1888.Salt Lake City : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2012. Online at FamilySearch (Free)
  • Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather. Index to biographies for Andrew County, Missouri : from History of Andrew and De Kalb counties, Missouri, 1888. Salt Lake City : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2013. Online at FamilySearch (Free)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Nodaway CountyGentry CountyDeKalb CountyBuchanan CountyHolt CountyDoniphan CountyMO ANDREW.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Andrew County, Missouri for European settlers included:

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Andrew County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Andrew County, Missouri:

- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company A
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company B
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company C
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company I
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company B
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company C
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company D
- 1st Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri National Guard Infantry (Union), Company E
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Andrew County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Andrew County Historical Society
    P. O. Box 12
    Savannah, MO 64485
  • Northwest Missouri Genealogical Society
    Physical Address:
    412 Felix Street
    St. Joseph, MO 64501
    Phone: 816-233-0524
    Mailing Address:
    P.O. Box 382
    St. Joseph, MO 64502

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Andrew County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_County,_Missouri, accessed 18 Sept 2018.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Andrew County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Andrew County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Andrew County Missouri, accessed 13 August 2019.
  7. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.