Anhui, China Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Province of Anhui 安徽 family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Chinese Wiki Topics
Chinese character.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Chinese Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Chinese Genealogy is Twlisa and Chincm
Province of Anhui 安徽
Ask the
Community



History[edit | edit source]

During the Yuan dynasty, ruled by the Mongolian emperor, Anhui area was a part of Henan province and during the Ming dynasty, the area was directly managed by the administration of the Capital of Nanjing. Shortly after the Qing dynasty was established, this area and Jiangsu province were merged as one province until 1666 or 1667.
In 1938, the north and central areas of the province were heavily damaged because Chiang Kai Shek, the then-President of the Republic of China, broke the dam of the Yellow River, hoping this strategy could slow down the invasion by the Imperial Japanese Army. Within only ten days of the dam breaking, the water and sands drowned all of north and middle area of this province.
With the establishment of People’s Republic of China in 1949, the capital city of Anhui province moved to what was then a small town, Hefei.[1]

Anhui Maps[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Anhui," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anhui (accessed 27 March 2018)