Annis, Jefferson County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Annis, Jefferson County ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
The name history of Ann Island becoming Annis is disputed. A plaque located at the old "Annis Little Butte Cemetery," currently known as "Little Butte Cemetery," reads in part:
"Annie's Place" Annis
March 1879, the first of many hardy, courageous pioneers" ... "First public building was a combined log post office and home of James and Anna Kearney. They forded "Dry Bed Channel" of Snake River to bring mail to their central place which became known as "Annie's Place." Kearneys applied for postal service in 1886 which was granted in 1896 but with the name of Annis."
Plaque No. 419 erected by the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers in 1982.
The Josiah Scott House, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is located near Annis.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Article cited from Wikipedia - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annis,_Idaho
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
US Vol. 24 page 22 - Annis Cemetery - click here for the Find A Grave entry
References[edit | edit source]
- cite book|title=The Utah Genealogical and Historical Magazine, Volumes 9-10|url=https://books.google.com/books?id=L7M3AQAAIAAJ&pg=RA1-PA10%7Cyear=1918%7Cpage=10
- cite book|last1=Stewart|first1=George R.|title=American place-names; a concise and selective dictionary for the continental United States of America|date=1970|publisher=Oxford University Press|location=New York
- Find A Grave image 7, image 6 is harder to read, Entry for Little Butte Cemetery, Annis, Jefferson County, Idaho, Added: 19 May 2000, Find A Grave Cemetery: #155547,
- NRISref|2010a - National Park Service (2010-07-09). "National Register Information System". National Register of Historic Places. National Park Service.