Appleby St Michael, Westmorland Genealogy
Guide to Appleby St Michael, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Appleby St Michael, Westmorland | |
|---|---|
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | East |
| County | Westmorland, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | East Ward |
| Registration District | East Ward |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1582 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1665 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Westmorland |
| Diocese | Carlisle |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Westmorland Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
The town (Appleby) is situated in the parishes of St. Lawrence and St. Michael, that portion of it which is in the latter being named Bongate: St. Lawrence's contains a population of 1354, and St. Michael's one of 1165. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Appleby St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| Appleby St Michael Online Parish Records | ||||||
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| FS | 1538-1975 | 1538-1973 | 1538-1991 | |||
| BOYD | 1538-1850 | |||||
| JOIN | 1787-1837 | |||||
| IGI | 1582-1810, 1665-1736, 1736-1786, 1787-1870, 1813-1894, 1835-1894 |
1583-1910, 1665-1786, 1696-1906, 1787-1868 |
||||
| FS Catalog PRs | 1582-1910 | 1582-1910 | 1582-1910 | |||
| FS Catalog BTs | 1665-1870 | 1665-1870 | 1665-1870 | |||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Kendal Archive Centre.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
In December 1787 the Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions commissioned a population survey of the county. Parish constables were ordered to send in returns listing the names and occupations of the members of every household in their constablewick. This census is found in Vital Statistics, The Westmorland "Census' of 1787. This book is available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. The library call number is British Ref. Area 942.88 X2v.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 62-66. Date accessed: 11 July 2012.
- ↑ ArcherSoftware.co.uk
