Appuna Parish, Östergötland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Appuna Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Appuna Church

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Appuna Parish, Östergötland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Linköping
Pastorat medieval times Appuna, since -1961 Hov, 1962- Väderstad
Län Östergötland
Landskap Östergötland
Härad Göstrings härad
Tingslag -1918 Göstring, 1919-1923 Lysing and Göstring, 1924-1970 Mjölby (from 1939 called Folkungabygden)
Domsaga 1971- Folkungabygdens tingsrätt
Fögderi 1720-1899 Göstrings and Vifolka fögderi, 1900-1917 Lysings and Göstrings fögderi, 1918 Mjölby fögderi
Kommun 1863-1951 Appuna kommun, 1952-1970 Folkunga kommun, 1971- Mjölby kommun
Militär indelning Andra Lif-Grenadier-Regementet: Skenninge Kompani, Första Lif-Grenadier-Regementet: Motala Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen,
NAD Ref Code SE/VALA/00016
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Appuna Fattighus, Appuna Fattigsat, Appuna Komministerboställe, Appuna Lilla Östergård, Appuna Mellangård, Appuna Orregård, Appuna Rabbestad, Appuna Stora Östergård, Appuna Trumpetaregård, Appuna Västergård, Appuna Västra Norrgård, Appuna Östra Norrgård

Backstugan (under Appuna Västra Norrgård)

Fattighuset, Fattigstaten Appuna

Kilen, Komministerboställe Appuna, Karlebytorp Mellangård, Karlebytorp Västergård, Karlebytorp Östergård

Lunna Säteri, Lyckorna (under Appuna Fattigstat), Lyckorna (under Appuna Komministerboställe), Lyckorna (under Lilla Östergård Appuna)

Orregården Appuna

Rabbestad Appuna

Smedstorpet

Trumpetaregården Appuna

Utterstad Herrgård, Utterstad Mellangård, Utterstad Södergård, Utterstad Utjord

Valla Norrgård, Valla Södergård, Vallaslätten, Valltorp, Varnsängen Utjord

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Östergötland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Östergötland" and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies


References[edit | edit source]

Riksarkivet. "Appuna Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Skatteverket. "Appuna." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). April 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna

Appuna, Husförhörslängd 1826 -1840, Ortregister

Harlén, Hans. Sverige från A till Ö: geografisk-historisk uppslagsbok, Kommentus, Stockholm 2003