Arecibo, Puerto Rico Genealogy
|Puerto Rico Wiki Topics|
|Puerto Rico Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Municipality of Arecibo family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
History[edit | edit source]
Arecibo was settled in 1556 by Spanish colonists. The area had previously been occupied by the Taino (the indigenous people of the Caribbean). On May 1, 1616, Arecibo was officially founded as a town by the Spanish crown. Total population of Arecibo is approximately 96,400. 
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, Arecibo, images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
[edit | edit source]
- Catedral San Felipe de Arecibo
- Cemetenerio de la Santa Cruz
- Cementerio Municipal Del Barrio Bajadero
- Cementerio Municipal El Tres
- Josefina Morell
- Municipal Cemetery
Some transcriptions in the above cemeteries can be found at Find A Grave.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Arecibo, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Arecibo,_Puerto_Rico_Genealogy, accessed 12/12/2020.