To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Arizona, United States Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Arizona Wiki Topics
Arizona flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Arizona Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator

The FamilySearch moderator for Arizona is James Tanner.

Guide to Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arizona Information[edit | edit source]

Arizona territory was created on 24 February 1863 from the western half of New Mexico territory. Later, the northwest corner of Arizona was removed and given to Nevada on 18 January 1867. After nearly 50 years of being a territory, Arizona became the last of the contiguous forty-eight states in the Union on 14 February 1912.[1] It is know officially as "The Grand Canyon State," but was referred to informally as "the Baby State" until Alaska became a state in 1959. There are 15 counties in Arizona and the capital is Phoenix.[2]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Arizona Research

Links to articles on getting started with Arizona research.

Arizona Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Arizona research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Arizona Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.

Cochise CountySanta Cruz CountyPima CountyYuma CountyMaricopa CountyPinal CountyGraham CountyGila CountyLa PazYavapai CountyGreenlee CountyApache CountyNavajo CountyCoconino CountyMohave CountyArizona-county-map.gif

Counties[edit | edit source]

Extinct and former counties which might have records for your Arizona ancestors:

See Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona which shows when counties were created, maps, and where their records are now located.
See also Arizona County Creation Dates and Parent Counties

Arizona Migration Routes[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch resources that can assist you in searching for your family.

Additional Resources[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Arizona" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arizona (accessed 15 March 2016).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 1 Nov 2016.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.