Arrington, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Arrington, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Arrington, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wetherley
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Caxton
Registration District Caxton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barton
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ARRINGTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, hundred of Wetherley, county of Cambridge, 5¼ miles SSE from Caxton.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Arrington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cam BTs = England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Cambridgeshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Arrington Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Cam BTs 1599-1860
1599-1860
1599-1860
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1539-1950
1540-1949
1540-1966
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
FMP Banns

1653-1981


NBI



1538-1992
BOYD

1538-1850


ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1550-1874
1546-1847, 1813-1835


FS Catalog PRs
1538-1877
1538-1877
1538-1877
FS Catalog BTs
1599-1869
1599-1869
1599-1869

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives. Records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library and through a Family History Center. Those films are:

Copies of the Parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Record Office.

Boyd's Marriage Index covers 1538-1837 and is available on British Origins and findmypast.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Arrington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk