Ash (near Ridley), Kent Genealogy
Guide to Ash near Ridley, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ash (near Ridley), Kent|
Ash near Wrotham St Peter & St Paul Kent
|Hundred||Axton, Dartford and Wilmington|
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Dartford|
|Parish registers: 1553|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1718|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ASH, or Ash-next-Ridley, a parish in Dartford district, Kent; 6 miles S of Northfleet railway station, and 7 SSE of Dartford. It includes the hamlets of Hodsoll Street and West-York and part of Culverstone-Green; and it has a post office under Sevenoaks. There is a Baptist chapel and a national school.
Ash-cum-Ridley is a civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent which includes Ash, New Ash Green, Hodsoll Street and Ridley. Ash-cum-Ridley Wikipedia.
Ash (near Ridley) St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish which included Hodsoll Street, Westfield West York and part of Culverstone Green within its boundary.
Ash Ebenezer Baptist Chapel was also an Independent church within this parish.
This parish should not be confused with Ash (near Sandwich), Kent Genealogy in the same county.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Ash (near Ridley) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911|
|FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986|
|FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911|
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)|
|BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free|
|FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free|
|Ash (near Ridley) Online Parish Records|
|FS Canterbury PRs||1538-1986||1538-1986||1538-1986|
|FMP East Kent|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
Images for Ash next Ridley are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Ash (near Ridley), Kent Family History Resources. Scanned images of parish registers, maps, monumental inscriptions, photographs.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Index of England, (1848). Date accessed: 16 July 2103.