Ashfield with Thorpe, Suffolk Genealogy
Guide to Ashfield with Thorpe, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ashfield with Thorpe, Suffolk|
|Poor Law Union||Bosmere and Claydon|
|Parish registers: 1693|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Ashfield or Ashfield-with-Thorpe, is a parish in Bosmere district, Suffolk; it is 2 miles ESE of Debenham, and 9 miles NE of Needham railway station. Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.
Resources[edit | edit source]
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Ashfield with Thorpe and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records. Commonly referred to as Ashfield. There is also a parish named Great Ashfield elswhere in the county.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ashfield with Thorpe, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ashfield with Thorpe, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
The Parish Registers begin in 1693. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Bosmere Deanery, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Ashfield. See Suffolk Church Records for further details.
Census records[edit | edit source]
There are census records available for Ashfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Ashfield, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Earl Soham (Catalogued Soham Earl) was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wilson, John Mauris, Imperial Gazetteer of England; Wales, publ. London; Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 18 December 2015.
- 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 4 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.