Ashford, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Ashford, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Ashford St Mary Kent
|Hundred||Chart and Longbridge|
|Poor Law Union||West Ashford|
|Registration District||West Ashford|
|Parish registers: 1570|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1560|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ASHFORD (St. Mary), a market-town, parish, and the head of the union of West Ashford, in the hundred of Chart and Longbridge, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 20 miles SE by E from Maidstone, and 54 ESE from London. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon and Wesleyans. 
Ashford is a town and borough in Kent, see Ashford Wikipedia
Ashford St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish for the market town of Ashford which included Alfred and Newton Ashford in the parish. A map of the parish boundary as well as toher Anglican parishes in the town may be viewed at A church near you
The church is mentioned in the Domesday survey and the current church on the site dates from 1250 with restoration and enlargement in subsequent centuries. The latest restoration underway in 2011 is to provide both a place of worship for the town and parish and a performance space to seat 350 for the town and surrounding community.
The church of St Mary Church Road Kingsnorth has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
The church of Christ Church South Ashford which dates from 1867 has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building
Kennington United Reformed/ Methodist Church Ashford Church website
Cade Road United Reformed/Methodist Church South Ashford Church website
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ashford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free|
|MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Ashford Online Parish Records|
Archdeacon's transcripts, 1560-1812; Bishop's transcripts, 1603-1896 at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives, Canterbury, Kent.
Some early pages damaged, and the 1813-1896 transcripts damaged by fire.
Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: DCa/BT/4; DCb/BT1/7; DCb/BT2/10
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
Images for Ashford are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1831
Census records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
- Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
- 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.