Askham, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Askham, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Askham St Nicholas Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1538; For more records see East Drayton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1625|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ASKHAM, a parish, in the union of East Retford, South-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¾ miles (N.) from Tuxford; containing, with Rockley hamlet. 
Askham St Nicholas was formed originally as a chapelry in East Drayton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Ancient parish.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project are researching the history of the church Askham St Nicholas
The Parish church of St Nicholas has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
See also: Askham Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
Askham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|ASKHAM PARISH Online Records|
Askham St Nicholas
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-2001 Marriages 1543-1964 Burials 1533- 2003 Bishop’s Transcripts 1625-1844
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Askham
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Askham in GENUKI: Askham
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.