Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire|
|County||Buckinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Aylesbury|
|Parish registers: 1738; For more records see Aston Clinton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1844|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Aston Clinton St. Leonard was a chapel of ease created by the year 1739, lying within the civil parish boundary of Aston Clinton St Michael, with the hamlet of St. Leonard. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1603.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web site[edit | edit source]
Aston Clinton (including St Leonards) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-108. Date accessed and adapted 23 May 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
- 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.