Austre Moland Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Austre Moland, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Austre Moland Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today) Stavanger bospedømme (1684-1925) and Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Arendal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Østre Moland
Kommune Arendal
Skifteretten Nedenes
Tinglag Austre Moland
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Strengjareiđ


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Austre Moland prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for Austre Moland (Østre Moland) and Stokken. Belonged to Holt clerical district until 1747 when Austre Moland with Tromøy and Barbu became its own clerical district. Included Tromøy and Barbu until 1877. See Holt clerical district for earlier church records. Parish registers for the years 1747-1936.

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and includes the parishes of Tromøy, Holt, Austre Moland, Flosta, Dypvåg, Arendal, and Kristiansand. This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Also available online at Digital Archives (Digitalarkivet).


  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and includes the parishes of Flosta, Arendal, Dypvåg, Austre Moland, Holt, Tromøy, and Tvedestrand. This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farm owners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.


  • 1701 Manntall: The 1701 tax census is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and includes the parishes of Holt, Tromøy, Arendal, Austre Moland, Flosta, and Dypvåg. The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.


  • 1801: The 1801 census for Austre Moland includes the parishes of Austre Moland, Tromøy, Barbu, and Stokken and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It includes Austre Moland, Stokken, Tromøy, and Barbu parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Also available online in a searchable database at the Digital Archives (Digitalarkivet).


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Austre Moland includes the parishes of Austre Moland, Tromøy, Barbu, and Stokken and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available in a searchable database online at the Digital Archives (Digitalarkviet).


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Austre Moland clerical district, includes the parishes of Austre Moland, Stokken, Tromøy, and Barbuand is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digital Arkivet.



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Austre Moland clerical district contains, Austre Moland and Stokken and is available on microfilm at the Folketælling Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database at Digital Archives (Digitalarkivet).


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has Austre Moland, ei bygdebok. It is a history of Austre Moland in Aust-Agder county with some genealogy.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 and the farm names found in Austre Moland Ei Bygdebok, are combined in the list below:

Ambjørnsplass, 20 Askedalen, 31 Augland, Austre Moland,

Bakken, Bakketun, Berntsplass, Bjorendal, Bjormyr, Bjornes, Blaudekjær, Blågestad, 37 Borraas, 14 Braarvold, 1 Brekken vestre, 2 Brekken østre,Bruråsen, 17 Brømnes, Bubråten, Bukkeholmen,

Dalebu, Dalen, 1 Dobbeheien,

Eibo, Eidet, Eikelia, Eiketoppen, Eikhaug, Eikås, Eisteinsmyr, Engbråten, 27 Engelskjenn (Engelstjern), 35 Eskestøl, Espeviga,

Fjellhøy, Fjelli, Fjellsøygard, Fjelly, 1 Fjærbu, Flaten, 39 Flodda, 11 Fløistad, Folåsen, Frednes, Fredvik, Fritun, Frivoll, Furuly,

30 Gangdalen, 38 Gunnildsbu,

Harebakken, Harveland, Harvelandsneset, 6 Haslestad, 2 Hattaasen, 40 Haugedal, Haugen, 8 Haugenes, Heimly, Heimstad, Hesthag, 16 Herveland, 10 Holte, 28 Holtebæk, Hørdalen,

Jovannsmyra, Jovannsåsen,

15 Karterød, Kjæret, Klampelia, 19 Kleven, Kleivene, 34 Krakstad, Kringlemoen, Kullbundkjær,

5 Landbø, Lauvland, Lauvås, Li, Lia, 33 Lien og Eigestø, Lille Møreland, 13 Lillestølen, Lillevoie, Lona, 25 Longum mellom, Longum Ytre, Longum Øvre, Longumneset, 23 Longumstølen, Løvli,

32 Midstøl, Moen, Moland, Mortenskjær, Myra, Myrlid, Mølla, Mønekilåsen, 21 Mørland lille,

Nedre Otterland, Neset, Neslund, 9 Noddeland, Nystein,

Odden, Otterland Nedre, Otterland Østre, Otterland Øvre, Ottersland,

Pengekjær, 3 Præstegaarden,

38 Raana, 18 Risstøl, Romsdølen, Romstølstykket, Rughaven, Rynninghagen, Røydalen, Råbu, Råna,

11 Sagaasen, Sagemoen, 1 Sandrullet, Siring, Skau, 30 Skjevestad, 29 Skjulestad, Skjævestadneset, Skogtun, Slottet, Snømyr, Solbakken, Solborg, SSolheim, Solkollen, Sollund, Spirene, Sprøkilen, Stokkeliene, Storemyr, Strandbakken, Stupinn, Støyl, 12 Syrdalen, Sørli,

Tamburodden, Tangen, Torsplass, Tufta, 20 Tveide, Tveide vestre med Tveiderød, 33 Tveiden, Tveitevollen,

Ugland, 36 Uglebu, Ura, 1 Urdalen,

4 Vaaje lille, 7 Vaaje store, Vesleheim, Vestre Brekke, Vestre Fladen, Vestre Fløystad, Vestre Tveide, Viga, Vinterbakken, Voie, Vollekjenn, Vollene, 1 Vollekjenvadstykket og Diblestykket, Våland,

Watnebo,

Ytre Longum,

Ægra,

Østerhus, Østre Brekka, Østre Fløystad, Østre Otterland, Østre Otterland, Østre Tveide, Øvre Longum, Øvre Otterland, Øygarden, Øygardsbukta, Øygardsmyra,

Åbelvik, Åsheim

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Weierholt, Ivar: Mørlandsfamilien stamtavle. A genealogy of the Mørland family from the Mørland farm in Austre Moland, Aust- Agder, Norway who are descendants of Anders Mørland who lived about 1510 to 1570.

FHL 929.2481 M827

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes judicial district to 1824
*1852-1892 Family History Library
*1852-1904 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

- Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

- Weierholt, Kirsten. Austre Moland Ei Bygdebok. Tvedestrand: Sverre Kildahls Boktrykkeri, 1959.]