Avon Dassett, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Avon Dassett, Warwickshire|
|Poor Law Union||Banbury|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1664|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
St John the Baptist's Church, Avon Dassett, is a redundant Anglican church in the village of Avon Dassett, Warwickshire, England. It has been designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building, and is under the care of the Churches Conservation Trust.
The present church replaced the Norman church dedicated to St Matthew and was built in 1868 by the architect Charles Buckeridge.
The church was declared redundant in 1983 but is still used for concerts and special events. The Churches Conservation Trust restored the steeple and belfry in 2007/8. Avon-Dasset, is a parish in the district of Banbury Warwickshire; it is 2 miles SW of Fenny-Compton railway station, and 6½ miles NNW of Banbury.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Avon Dassett parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
Avon Dassett, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Avon Dassett, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Bishop's Transcripts deposited at the Lichfield Record Office Bap 1664-1843 Marr 1664-1837 Bur 1664-1843
- 1535 - 1984 - England, Warwickshire, Parish Registers, 1535-1984 at FamilySearch — index and images
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Date accessed: 30 Oct 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.