Babraham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Babraham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Babraham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chilford
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Linton
Registration District Linton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BABRAHAM (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Linton, hundred of Chilford, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles NW from Linton.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Babraham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Babraham Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1812 1599-1812
1599-1812

Church of England: Babraham, St. Peter

  • Parish registers for Babraham, 1561-1876 are on FHL Film # 1040364 Items 14-23 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.
  • Bishop Transcripts for Babraham, 1599-812 are on FHL Film # 1485266 at the Family History Library or through a Family History Center.[1]. This microfilm has been digitised.

The original registers are deposited at the Cambridgeshire Record Office and the Society of Genealogists.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Methodist: Records for these exist in various locations

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Linton Poor Law Union, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

The Overseers accounts from 1829-1837 are on FHL Film # 1040403 Items 1-8 available at the Family History Library and a Family History Center.

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Babraham on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.