Badingham, Suffolk Genealogy
Guide to Badingham, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Badingham is a parish is near the river Alde, in Hoxne district, Suffolk; it is 3½ miles N E of Framlingham railway station.
BADINGHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 14 miles (N. by E.) from Woodbridge.
BADINGHAM, a widely scattered village, having several assemblages of houses, near the sources of the river Alde, from 3 to 4 miles N.N.E. of Framlingham, has in its parish 864 souls, and 3200 A.. of fertile land, in the manors of Badingham Hall, Colston Hall, and Oakenhill Hall. Robert Sayer, Esq., is lord of the two former; and the Rev. J. Baldry of the latter. They each hold General Courts Baron, at which the copyholders, and all owing suit and service, are summoned to attend; but a great part of the parish is freehold. W. A. Stanford, Esq., has an estate and neat seat here, called the White House; and the Horsey, Peckover, Moxon, Alderson, Scott, Webster, and several other families, have estates in the parish. Badinggham, Hall, now a farm-house, was long the seat of the Rous family; and Colston Hall formerly belonged to the Holts. The Church (St. John) is an ancient structure, with a tower and five bells. The chancel was rebuilt of white brick, by the Rev. T. F. Chevallier, the late rector and patron, and contains several monuments of the I tons family....".
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Badingham was in Hoxne district till 1907 at which time it was moved into Hartismere District. In 1907 Hoxne district was abolished. To search an index of Hoxne or Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.
Church records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Badingham Online Parish Records|
|Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Suffolk ($)|
|Ancestry Church of England BMD-Suffolk ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Suffolk ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Suffolk ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census records[edit | edit source]
There are census records available for Badingham from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Badingham Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Badingham was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Some Pictures of Badingham
- Badingham - Wikipedia
- Local archives and libraries
- Family History Centres
References[edit | edit source]
- 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 128-132. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.
- William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk; pages 450, 451.