Badlesmere, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Badlesmere, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Badlesmere St Leonard Kent
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Faversham|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1812|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BADLESMERE (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union and hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E division of Kent, 4¼ miles S from Faversham. 
Badlesmere is a village and civil parish in the Swale district of Kent, see Badlesmere Kent Wikipedia.
Badlesmere St Leonard is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; the church dates from the 13th century and is unusual in that it had no Victorian restoration and is an example of a conserved Georgian interior. The modern parish of Badlesmere with Leaveland is part of a united benefice of Selling; a map of the parish and details of other local churches in the benefice are available at A church near you
The Parish church of St Leonard, Dayton Road, Badlesmere has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council Registration Services Invicta House County Hall Maidstone Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400
http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth, marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually.
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Badlesmere parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Badlesmere Online Parish Records|
|FMP||1558-1822||1558-1822||1763-1883 (Banns)||1763-1883 (Banns)||1559-1822||1559-1822|
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
Images for Badlesmere available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 1 July 2013
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.