To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Bahamas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Bahamas ancestry, family history, and genealogy Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Bahamas Wiki Topics
Flag of the Bahamas.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Bahamas Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

The Bahamas is an island country in the Caribbean whose nearest neighbors are Cuba, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Turks and Caicos Islands, and Florida in the United States. It was formerly a colony of Great Britain. The official language is English.[1]

The Bahamas consists of a chain of islands spread out over some 800 kilometres (500 mi) in the Atlantic Ocean, located to the east of Florida in the United States, north of Cuba and Hispaniola and west of the British Overseas Territory of the Turks and Caicos Islands (with which it forms the Lucayan archipelago). It lies between latitudes 20° and 28°N, and longitudes 72° and 80°W and straddles the Tropic of Cancer.[12] There are some 700 islands and cays in total (of which 30 are inhabited) with a total land area of 10,010 km2 (3,860 sq mi).[12][65]

Nassau, capital city of the Bahamas, lies on the island of New Providence; the other main inhabited islands are Grand Bahama, Eleuthera, Cat Island, Rum Cay, Long Island, San Salvador Island, Ragged Island, Acklins, Crooked Island, Exuma, Berry Islands, Mayaguana, the Bimini islands, Great Abaco and Great Inagua. The largest island is Andros.

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Bahamas Research

Links to articles on getting started with Bahamas research.

Bahamas Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Bahamas research.

Ask the
Community

Bahamas Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Bahamas.

Districts of the Bahamas (Labeled).png

Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Bahamas.

    • Acklins
    • Berry Islands
    • Bimini
    • Black Point, Exuma
    • Cat Island
    • Central Abaco
    • Central Andros
    • Central Eleuthera
    • City of Freeport, Grand Bahama
    • Crooked Island
    • East Grand Bahama
    • Exuma
    • Grand Cay, Abaco
    • Harbour Island, Eleuthera
    • Hope Town, Abaco
    • Inagua
    • Long Island
    • Mangrove Cay, Andros
    • Mayaguana
    • Moore's Island, Abaco
    • New Providence
    • North Abaco
    • North Andros
    • North Eleuthera
    • Ragged Island
    • Rum Cay
    • San Salvador
    • South Abaco
    • South Andros
    • South Eleuthera
    • Spanish Wells, Eleuthera
    • West Grand Bahama

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "The Bahamas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Bahamas, accessed 17 May 2016.