Baker County, Florida Genealogy
Guide to Baker County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Baker County, Florida|
Location in the state of Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
|Founded||February 8, 1861|
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church
- 4.4 Court
- 4.5 Land
- 4.6 Local Histories
- 4.7 Maps
- 4.8 Military
- 4.9 Newspapers
- 4.10 Probate
- 4.11 Taxation
- 4.12 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Baker County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Baker County Courthouse
339 E MacClenny Avenue
MacClenny, FL 32063-2100
County Judge has marriage and probate records
Circuit Court has divorce and court records from 1880
History[edit | edit source]
The majority of the pre-civil war settlers who came to the area now known as Baker County were hunters and farmers. However after the war industries involving turpentine and logging brought a greater number of northern settlers because of the higher opportunity for employment. The county seat was first in Sanderson. Later however, after the burning of the Sanderson courthouse in 1877 and also with pressure from Darbyville settlers, a vote was held to determine the county seat. On February 22, 1886 a votes rendering results with only 23 more votes in favor of the county seat being in Darbyville. The county seat was then moved to Darbyville, presently known as Macclenny. The area began with farming cotton and corn as the main crops followed by sugar cane, sweet potatoes and lots of leafy vegetables. After the environmental disturbance or the boll weevil which destroyed the cotton, corn took the place of Baker main crop. Selling mostly as moonshine. Some time after tobacco became the main cash crop. (History of Baker County). 
Parent County[edit | edit source]
(Macclenny was once called Darbyville but was changed in 1890 to Macclenny.)
Baker County was named in honor of James McNair Baker. Baker was the former Judge of the Fourth Judicial District of the state of Florida, which included the Baker County area at the time (History of Baker County).
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for a judge and Confederate Senator James McNair Baker. It is the only place in Florida where a civil war battle occurred. The county seat is Macclenny and the county was organized on 1861. The County is located in the North east area of the state.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1888 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Baker County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Florida cemetery records
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Baker County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.
1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents. Also census for agriculture, manufacture and mortality.
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Baker County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1821-1997 Maps of Florida
Military[edit | edit source]
- Baker County Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Florida Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- Florida State Archive Florida, Confederate Pension Applications Files
- Florida State Archive A Guide to Civil War Records at the State Archives of Florida.
- 1885-1955 - Florida Confederate Veterans and Widows Pension Applications 1885-1955 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
- Index to World War II Army Enlistment Records, Baker County, Florida (Genealogy Trails)
- Baker County World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel (Genealogy Trails)
- 1940-1945 - Florida, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Korean War Casualties, Baker County (Genealogy Trails)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Baker County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1784 – 1990 FamilySearch Florida Probate Records
- 1810 – 1974 Ancestry.com $ Florida Wills and Probate Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- 1877 - 1939 - Florida, Deaths 1877-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1900 - 1921 - Florida, Deaths and Burials 1900-1921 at FamilySearch — index
- 1877 - 1998 - Florida, Death Index 1877-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1802 - 1998 - Florida, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1837 - 1974 - Florida, Marriages 1837-1974 at FamilySearch — index
- 1830 - 1993 - Florida, Marriages 1830-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1830 - 1957 - Florida, County Marriages, 1830-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 - Florida, Marriage Index 1822-1875 and 1927-2001 at FamilySearch — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Baker County Historical Society
PO Box 856
42 West McIver Avenue
Macclenny, FL 32063
- Florida Historical Society
- Florida State Genealogical Society
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Florida Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Florida Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Baker County FLGenWeb Project, a member of The FLGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- Baker County FLGenWeb Project, Inc
- Baker County, Florida Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Baker County, Florida (Genealogy Trails)
- Baker County FL Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Baker County, Florida . Page 133-137 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 143-145.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Baker County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- "Baker County Review." History of Baker County, Florida. N.p., n.d. Web. 11 Nov. 2013. BAKER COUNTY IN REVIEW
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Baker County, Florida Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/fla/baker/ accessed 04/21/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Baker County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baker_County,_Florida 04/21/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Baker County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baker_County,_Florida, accessed 1 August 2016.