To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Balcombe, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Balcombe, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Balcombe, Sussex
St Mary Balcombe West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buttinghill
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Cuckfield
Registration District Cuckfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

BALCOMB (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, partly in the hundred of Street, but chiefly in the hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (N.) from Cuckfield.[1]. It is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. A history of the church can be found at Vision of Britain through Time.[2]. It has been designated as a grade I listed building. [3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
01243 642122

Church records[edit | edit source]

Balcombe, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
Balcombe, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1539-1877 1539-1875
PRTS 1540-1903
1540-1901
1539-1900
SOPC Undefined
Undefined

West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1540-1943 Marr 1540-1969 Bur 1539-1928 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1893
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Balcombe

Land Tax 1785.  A list of owners and occupiers and places within the Parish.  This article to be found in Sussex Family Historian Magazine, vol. 1 #3, Dec. 1973, page 7-10, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the West Sussex Record Office and The Keep (which houses the collections of the East Sussex Record Office).

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Cuckfield Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Date Accessed: 16 September 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of Balcombe in Mid Sussex | Map and description (1870-72) Date accessed: 09th January 2014
  3. British listed building
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.