Baldwin County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Baldwin County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a southwest Alabama county. For other uses, see Baldwin
County Facts
County seat: Mintre
Organized: December 21, 1809
Parent County(s): Washington[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clarke  • Escambia  • Escambia (FL)  • Mobile  • Monroe  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
Baldwin County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Baldwin County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of Senator Abraham Baldwin, though he never lived in what is now Alabama. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Baldwin County Courthouse
312 Courthouse Square, Suite 10
Bay Minette, AL 36507
Phone: (251) 937-9561
Fairhope Satellite Courthouse
1100 Fairhope Avenue
Fairhope, AL 36532
Phone: (251) 928-3002
Foley Satellite Courthouse
201 East Section Avenue
Foley, AL 36535
Phone: (251) 943-5061
Baldwin County Website


The Probate Court has marriage records from 1810, probate records from 1809 and land records from 1808.
The Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[3]

Baldwin County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1886 1810 1886 1811 1808 1809 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1809--Baldwin County was created 21 December 1809 from Washington County and part of Florida.
  • County seat: Mintre[5]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Baldwin County:[6]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Baldwin, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Baldwin county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 1,718
1830 2,324 35.3%
1840 2,951 27.0%
1850 4,414 49.6%
1860 7,530 70.6%
1870 6,004 −20.3%
1880 8,603 43.3%
1890 8,941 3.9%
1900 13,194 47.6%
1910 18,178 37.8%
1920 20,730 14.0%
1930 28,289 36.5%
1940 32,324 14.3%
1950 40,997 26.8%
1960 49,088 19.7%
1970 59,382 21.0%
1980 78,556 32.3%
1990 98,280 25.1%
2000 140,415 42.9%
2010 182,265 29.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.Both should be used:

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Baldwin County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Baldwin County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2006. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.121 E7bg.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Baldwin County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

WashingtonClarkeMonroeEscambiaEscambia, FLMobileAL BALDWIN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Baldwin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Baldwin County:

- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Baldwin Rifles"
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C

Civil War Records

Civil War Battles Fought in Baldwin County

  • 1864 - August 2-23 Mobile Bay, also known as Passing of Forts Morgan and Gaines, (partly fought in Mobile County)
  • 1865 - March 27-April 8, 1865 Spanish Fort
  • 1865 - April 2-9 Fort Blakely

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama, by the Heritage Preservation Services.


World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.

Baldwin County has three books:

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Links

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

  • Alabama Department of Archives and History
    P.O. Box 300100
    624 Washington Ave.
    Montgomery, AL 36130
    (334) 242-4435
    website


Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Baldwin County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.

  • The Foley Public Library
    319 E. Laurel (Hwy. 98)
    Fax: 251.943.8637
    251.943.7665
    Foley, Alabama 36535-2680
    Website
  • Daphne Public Library
    PO Box 1225, 2607 US Hwy 98,
    Daphne, AL 36526
    Phone: 251-620-2500
    website
  • Fairhope Public Library
    501 Fairhope Ave
    Fairhope, AL 36532
    Phone:(251)928-7483
    (fax)(251)928-9717

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Baldwin County Genealogical Society
    PO Box 108
    Foley, Alabama 36536-0108 U.S.A.
    Facebook
    Website
    We meet in the upstairs Public Meeting Room of the Public Library, 319 E. Laurel Ave., Foley, AL @ 10:00 am on the second Saturday of each month.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Baldwin, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baldwin_County,_Alabama 05/29/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Baldwin County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baldwin_County,_Alabama, accessed 24 September 2018.
  7. 7.0 7.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.