Bangor Teifi, Ceredigion, Wales Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bangor Teifi, Ceredigion)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

A guide to genealogy in Bangor Teifi, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Bangor Teifi is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

History[edit | edit source]

BANGOR, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 5 1/2 miles (E) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish is pleasantly situated on the river Teivy, the banks of which, in this part of its course, are richly ornamented with finely varied and beautifully picturesque scenery. The land, which is mostly enclosed and in a good state of cultivation, usually produces good crops of corn. The church, dedicated to St. David, is a small plain building, occupying a remarkable situation above a bold reach of the river. Near it is a circular mount, surrounded by a moat, called Castell Pistog, which is said to have been the site of a mansion anciently belonging to a family of that name.[1]

For more information on Bangor Teifi see: Genuki - Bangor Teifi

Bangor Teifi Parish
Jurisdictions
County bef 1974 add here
County 1 Apr 1974-31 Mar 1996 add here
County 1 Apr 1996 - add here
Civ Reg District Newcastle in Emlyn (1881)
Reg Sub-district Llandyssil (1881)
Probate Court add here
Diocese add here
Rural Deanery add here
Chapelry add here
Poor Law Union add here
Hundred TROEDYRAUR
Province add here
Hamlets add here


Administration[edit | edit source]

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Cardiganshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Ceredigion

Records[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Union Records[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 52-68. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.