Banwell, Somerset Genealogy
Guide to Banwell, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Axbridge|
|Parish registers: 1569|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Diocese||Bath and Wells|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Banwell|
|Location of Archive|
|Somerset Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BANWELL, a village, a parish, and a subdistrict, in the district of Axbridge, Somerset. The village stands under Banwell Hill, at the NW extremity of the Mendip range, 3 miles SE of the Bristol and Exeter railway, and 4 NNW of Axbridge. There is a Wesleyan chapel, 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538  .
Banwell, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|BANWELL PARISH Online Records|
Church records on microfilm[edit | edit source]
Wesleyan mentioned in these records is Methodist denomination.
Church Vital Records
- Births, baptisms for Banwell (Wesleyan), 1796-1837
- Births, baptisms for Banwell (Wesleyan), 1838-1897
- Births, Births and Christenings of Banwell,(Wesleyan), A thru Z 1796-1837
- christenings for Banwell (Wesleyan), 1796-1837
- Churchwardens' accounts for Banwell, 1516-1848 (includes rate list for repairing the church and Vestry minutes)
- Churchwardens' accounts for Banwell, 1848-1867 (includes rate list for repairing the church and Vestry minutes)
- Includes a list and "description of the persons desirous of emigrating from the parish of Banwell ... to Quebec", 1837; 1857
- list of parish apprentices for Banwell, 1684-1834
- Chapel accounts, 1784-1864
- Quarterly and trustees minutes for Banwell (Wesleyan), 1861-1904 Circuit accounts for Banwell(Wesleyan), 1836-1872
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- Court records for the manor of Banwell, 1760-1852
- Court records for the manors of Banwell, 1697-1855
Poor Law Union[edit | edit source]
The Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 placed the responsibility for the care of the poor in England and Wales, from 1834 onward, on Poor Law Unions. The Poor Law Unions and their workhouses took over this responsibility from the Church of England parishes. Prior to 1834 a few parishes or collections of parishes had established a few workhouses to help relieve the poor and provide indoor relief in the form of food, clothes and shelter.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax .
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales,(1870-72. Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
- England Church Records
- 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
- 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
- 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
- England and Wales Poor Law
- Land Tax Assessment Records
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.