Barbour County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Barbour County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Clayton
Organized: December 18, 1832
Parent County(s): Creek Cession, Pike[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bullock  • Clay  • Dale  • Henry  • Pike  • Quitman (GA)  • Russell  • Stewart (GA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Barbour County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Barbour County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of James Barbour, who served as Governor of Virginia.[2]The county is located in the southeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Barbour County Courthouse
1 Court Square
PO Box 219
Clayton, Al 36016
Phone: 334-775-8366
Fax: 334-775-1125
Barbour County District Court
303 E Broad St
Eufaula, AL 36027
Phone 334-687-1516
Barbour County Website

Judge of Probate has marriage probate and land records from 1800's.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1860 and Court Record from 1912.[4]

Barbour County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1881 1838 1881 1912 1833 1820 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1832--Barbour County was created 18 December 1832 from Pike and Creek Cession. Barbour County has two county courthouses (both in use) Clayton and Eufaula.
  • County seat: Clayton[6]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Barbour County:[7]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • Akinsville
  • Batesville
  • Baxters
  • Bells Crossroads
  • Bethel
  • Boot Hill
  • Comer
  • Cotton Hill
  • Doster
  • Edgefield
  • Elamville
  • Gaino
  • Garmon Crossroads
  • Greens Crossroads
  • Hawkinsville
  • Hobdy
  • Howe
  • Lime Sink
  • Lindsey
  • Lugo
  • Mount Andrew
  • Mount Gilead
  • Oateston
  • Osco
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Pratts
  • Richards Crossroads
  • Spring Hill
  • Star Hill
  • Teals Crossroads
  • Terese
  • Tew
  • Texasville
  • Tullis
  • Tyler Crossroads
  • White Oak
  • Wylaunee


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Barbour, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Barbour county cemeteries.

  • Interment.net Alabama cemetery records by county.
  • Cemetery Records: Barbour County, Alabama, Vol. 1 1966. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Librarye. Includes Anderson Cemetery, Anderson Baptist Church Cemetery, Antioch Cemetery (Blue Springs, Ala.), Antioch Baptist Church Cemetery, Batesville Baptist Church Cemetery, Betcher Bethel Cemetery, Bethel Hardshall Baptist Church Cemetery, Blue Springs Assembly of God Church Cemetery, Clayton Cemetery, Corinth Baptist Church Cemetery, Elam Baptist Church Cemetery, Evergreen Baptist Church Cemetery, Lightner Private Cemetery, New Hope Cemetery, Old Scott or Old Scotch Cemetery, Pea River Presbyterian Church Cemetery, Pleasant Grove Cemetery, Pleasant Plains Baptist Church Cemetery, Pleasant View Presbyterian Church Cemetery, Rocky Mount Cemetery, Ryans Cemetery, Shiloh Holiness Church Cemetery, Sikes Creek Baptist Church Cemetery, Union Baptist Church Cemetery, Warren Cemetery, and Weycott Plantation Cemetery.
  • Cemetery Records: Barbour County, Alabama, Vol. 2 1966. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Librarye. Bethlehem Cemetery, Bethsadie Cemetery, County Line Primitive Baptist Church Cemetery, Dykes or Lightwood Knot Cemetery, Ephesus or Cunningham Cemetery, Epworth Cemetery, Fairview Cemetery, Faulk Cemetery, Grubbs Church or Mt. Pleasant Cemetery, McElvin Private Cemetery, Methodist Cemetery (Louisville, Ala.), Mt. Zion Cemetery, Pea Creek Church Cemetery, Thomas Cemetery, and Whiteoak Cemetery.
  • Cemetery Records: Barbour County with Cherokee & Lawrence Counties Alabama, Vol. 3 1966. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Librarye. Includes Adams Chapel Cemetery, Baptist Cemetery (Spring Hill, Ala.), Beauchamp Cemetery, Center Ridge Cemetery, Christian Grove Cemetery, Creel Cemetery, Espy Cemetery, Jones Private Cemetery, Methodist Church Cemetery (Texasville, Ala.), Mt. Andrew Cemetery, Mt. Pleasant Cemetery, Old Spring Hill Methodist Church Cemetery, Pine Level Baptist Church Cemetery, Pleasant Hill Baptist Church Cemetery, Pond Bethel Cemetery, Private Cemetery (Spring Hill, Ala.), Private Family Cemetery (Sandy Point, Ala.), Ramah Baptist Church Cemetery, Sardus Church Cemetery, Tucker Cemetery, Upper Prospect Baptist Church Cemetery, and Zion's Chapel Cemetery.
  • Barbour County, Alabama Tombstone Inscriptions n.d. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Librarye. Includes Bethlehem Baptist Church Cemetery, Clayton Cemetery, Fairview Cemetery, Louisville Methodist Church Cemetery, Mt. Zion Cemetery, Pea River Presbyterian Church Cemetery.
  • Barbour County, Alabama Cemetery Records 1957. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Librarye. Includes Adams Chapel Cemetery and Creel Cemetery.
  • Additional Barbour County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Digital Library

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 12,024
1850 23,632 96.5%
1860 30,812 30.4%
1870 29,309 −4.9%
1880 33,979 15.9%
1890 34,898 2.7%
1900 35,152 0.7%
1910 32,728 −6.9%
1920 32,067 −2.0%
1930 32,425 1.1%
1940 32,722 0.9%
1950 28,892 −11.7%
1960 24,700 −14.5%
1970 22,543 −8.7%
1980 24,756 9.8%
1990 25,417 2.7%
2000 29,038 14.2%
2010 27,457 −5.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

The following have information concerning African American research.Both should be used:

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Barbour County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Barbour County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). FHL Book 976.132 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Barbour County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

  • Besson, J A. B. History of Eufaula, Alabama: The Bluff City of the Chattahoochee Atlanta, Ga: Franklin Steam Print. House, 1875 - read full-text online
  • Thompson, Mattie Thomas. History of Barbour County, Alabama Eufaula, Ala., 1939. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Walker, Anne Kendrick. Backtracking in Barbour County: A Narrative of the Last Alabama Frontier Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, 1941. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

BullockRussellStewart, GeorgiaQuitman, GeorgiaClay, GeorgiaHenryDalePikeAL BARBOUR.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Barbour County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Barbour County:

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A (Pioneer Guards)
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B (Eufaula Rifles)
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I (Clayton Guards)
- 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company B
- 4th Battalion, Alabama Cavalry (Love's), Companies B and C
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K [subsequently, Company A
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B (Midway Southern Guards)
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D (Fort Browder Roughs)
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (Glenville Guards)
- 15th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K (Eufaula City Guard)
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "Seal's Guards"
- 29th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 37th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 39th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Companies B, C, G, H, I, and K
- 45th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Companies A and C
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D

Online Records

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Barbour County has three books:

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Barbour County is in District 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

  • Alabama Department of Archives and History
    P.O. Box 300100
    624 Washington Ave.
    Montgomery, AL 36130
    (334) 242-4435
    website


Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Barbour County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.

  • Barbour Eufaula Carnegie Library
    217 N Eufaula Ave
    Eufaula AL 36027
    334-687-2337
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Barbour County Genealogy & Local History Society
    Facebook
  • Historic Chattahoochee Commission
    P. O. Box 33
    340 North Eufaula Avenue
    Eufaula, AL 36072
    Phone: 334-687-9755
    Website

  • Eufaula Heritage Association
    P. O. Box 486
    Eufaula, AL
    36072-0486 334-687-3793
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Barbour County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/barbour/ 05/29/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Barbour, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbour_County,_Alabama 05/29/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Barbour County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbour_County,_Alabama, accessed 24 September 2018.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:Igialabama.pdf.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/File:Igialabama.pdf.