Barlavington, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Barlavington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Sutton|
|Parish registers: 1656|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1572|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARLAVINGTON, a parish, in the union of Sutton (under Gilbert's act), hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (S.) from Petworth.
The parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Barlavington, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Barlavington Sussex Online Parish Clerks|
|Barlavington, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1664-1994 Marr 1656-1992 Bur 1656-1994
Bishop's Transcripts 1572-1869
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Barlavington
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Genealogy From Periodicals
[edit | edit source]
Howcutt, Francis. The Howcutt Family At Brixworth. Family history of Thomas Howcutt 1776-1844 and Elizabeth Martin and descendants, with some of the family at Spratton, and Sussex Bar Lavington, and London. Article dated from 1776-1851, with the following surnames, Adnitt, Sykes, Moody, Allen Jeacock, and Clay. Article in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.5.no.2. page 42-44. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.5
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 145-148. Date Accessed: 16 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
- 'Barlavington Sussex Online Parish Clerks', Barlavington Sussex Online Parish Clerks accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.