Barnstaple, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Barnstaple, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barnstaple|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1596|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BARNSTAPLE, or Barum (St. Peter and St.Paul), a port, borough, market-town, and parish, having exclusive jurisdiction,and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Braunton, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 40 miles (N. W.) from Exeter. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Barnstaple, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|GOOG = Google Books - free.|
|IARC = Internet Archive - free.|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) (£).|
|TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)|
|BARNSTAPLE PARISH (1538) Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- French Protestant
- Particular Baptist
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Barnstaple on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 153-158. Date accessed: 18 July 2012.
- Thomas Wainwright, Barnstaple Parish Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538 A.D. to 1812 A.D., 3 vols. in 1 (Exeter: James G. Cummin, 1903). Digitised by Google Books - free.
- Thomas Wainwright, Barnstaple Parish Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538 A.D. to 1812 A.D., 3 vols. in 1 (Exeter: James G. Cummin, 1903). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
- 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.